Snow Patrol – Chasing Cars


Ok, first music review. Thought I might as well go through my music collection first, and this started playing.

What can I say? Well, the underlying music starts very calm and peaceful, then slowly builds up to something slightly resembling an FPS backing track. That’s the sign of a good song – it can surprise you.

The lyrics are great. I suppose it counts as a love song, as he keeps asking:

If I lay here
If I just lay here
Would you lie with me
And just forget the world?

Now, I’m not a fan of love songs… They depress me… But this one really makes you think about relationships and how they can be everything you need. It tells of how saying I Love You doesn’t always say what you really mean.

The singing itself is relaxed, even when the music increases in roughness, really showing, in my opinion, how love can be calm and rough, energetic and relaxed.

Overall, one of my top 100. Good work Snow Patrol.

8/10

Leave a Reply

