Life Pt.2 – July, 2011


So That Guy started reviewing life? Its too big for just one post…
Check out my view on it. Go on. Go on…. Go wan go wan go wan (Thats a Father Ted funny, fyi xD)

Well, I also can’t speak for everyone else in the world, but I would have to say that life for a lot of people probably does suck right now. We may well have wars still going on, Greece may well be the next economy to fail at the hands of the Euro debacle (thank god we steered clear of that!) and yeah we do have a conservative government in the Uk. If that’s how you sum things up, Life, in general, sucks. However!

We live in a society where pessimism is champion. Why? Facebook. Twitter. WordPress even. They all give people a free forum to complain about everything under the sun. I mean don’t get me wrong, I am a victim of this obsessive attitude, but at the same time, I know it’s happening. Take 5 minutes to go through a few of your facebook friends’ statuses and you’ll see that between flash games and ‘How hot are you compared to a sparkly vampire?!‘ applications, that their posts are about 75% woe is me. From things as silly as:

“The wife made me a sandwich today… Win!
It had no mustard... Fail!
My life sux T,T”

To the repugnant:

“The guys I was trying to make friends with don’t like me. I am worthless. I see that razor blade and it looks more and more appealing and shiny.”

Now I don’t know if the first quote meant to say “Wife” instead of life, and I totally understand the shiny fascination of the 2nd quote. But come on. Get off you arse and get mustard, or just be grateful she made you a sandwich; and obviously you are too talented to be their friends. Whats wrong with your current ones?

What I am getting at, is that when people review life, they focus on the negatives. I can understand why, I really can. Its harder to forget hurtful things. To quote an overused cliché “Tell a girl she’s beautiful, she’ll remember it for a few hours. Tell a girl she’s ugly and she’ll remember it forever.” This can be applied to how a lot of people perceive life. They don’t remember the good stuff. So it’s good to remind those that you know are having a hard time of it, of the good they do have in their lives.

Things like a warm home, internet access (ok, that’s a joke… xD), a loving family, wonderful friends – and I mean the real ones.

Family, friends, acquaintances, strangers, enemies even. They all have feelings. They can all feel down at times. It’s up to you to show them that there are truly magical things all over this world, and you can let someone else’s life sparkle a little, just by giving them just one miracle:

The words “I Love You“.

Haggis

2 thoughts on “Life Pt.2 – July, 2011

  1. Well haggis. You’ve definitely put me in my place. Next month I’ll try to give a much more even review of life.

  2. Thank you Haggis. This has strongly reinforced my beliefs on life, and as long as I’ve known you, you never cease to amaze me with what words you can write. You inspire me.

    And I mean inspire this time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

