Why I hate the Simpsons


Now I know a lot of you will hate me for this. The Simpsons is probably the most famous and popular show in television history. It is the longest running show since Frasier, has won numerous awards, a massive fan base. In 2007 it received an accolade that has passed by superior shows like Family Guy and American Dad; a feature film. Therefore it may anger many of you to hear that I despise this show. Care to find out why?

 

UPDATE

Alright I guess I have to address some flaws with this. Firstly  I have to admit that this is a terrible piece of writing. I’ll admit I was pretty much driven purely by emotion on this one, my hatred for Homer Simpson probably got the better of me, the writing is bad at best and I didn’t do my research. I’ve watched the Simpsons more and more over the past year and I have to say I do like it, perhaps begrudgingly but I like it nevertheless. The characters are great, vast and memorable, the animation has only gotten better and the jokes are usually pretty good (I usually get a couple of laughs an episode) Nevertheless I still think Homer is a very unlikable character. It’s not like Peter Griffin or Stan Smith where they still do these really douchey, selfish things but the characters remain likable. When they do it it’s funny, when Homer does it there’s always a feel that there’s far more selfishness than stupidity involved. On a personal level, I prefer American Dad, Family Guy and South Park to The Simpsons. I know this is an unpopular opinion but that’s the way I feel. The following link is an updated post I wrote on why the majority of opinions I expressed in this post were wrong. https://thatguythatreviewsstuff.wordpress.com/2012/10/05/why-the-simpsons-is-actually-not-as-bad-as-i-thought/

Oh and South Park is without a doubt smarter than the Simpsons. The satire is sharper and it only keeps getting better while the Simpsons gets worse and worse, even by die-hard fan standards. Mr Dong seems to be living up to his namesake in the sense that he’s accusing me of not doing my research when he calls South Park crass. He seems to be refering more to the older series of the show which I fully admit are mostly dick jokes and such. Nowadays? No, it’s a satirical masterpiece, almost certainly one of the smartest shows on tv right now.

The show revolves around the Simpsons family consisting of Homer (the retarded fat ass who does little but laze around the house and watch television), Bart, (the little brat who enjoys causing chaos), Marge (the housewife who seems to do little but nag), Lisa (the cultural know it all who we see far too little of) and Maggie (by far the best member of the family). The show follows the family’s life as well as those of other minor characters such as Apu, who owns the local convenience store, and Principle Skinner, Bart and Lisa’s headmaster. That is basically it for the plot.

Now time to review this shitstorm. I hate the early episodes while many others consider them comedy gems. Why? Because the animation is awful and the characters and plot remains bland and painfully unfunny. I do agree when people say that the show gets worse and worse, whilst the animation only gets better. To its credit the animation in the latest episodes’ is just brilliant. I don’t think it’s as funny as many people will attest. Granted Mr Burns is great, so is Maggie. That’s about it. In fact thinking about it Burns and Maggie are probably the only characters I like. Maggie doesn’t have to say anything to be loved and Burns is just a great bastardy stereotype. I love it! Speaking of characters there is one I cannot stand. You all love him, I loath him. Homer fucking Simpson is a jackass. Seriously, he does nothing funny at all. He’s a pathetic odious tub of lard and he hasn’t even gotten a giggle out of me. His catchphrase “Do’h!” is originally from the three Stooges and it makes me furious that this fat bastard gets all the credit and fame. ASSHOLE! Most importantly, he is just selfish. He does things that with Peter Griffin or Stan Smith would be funny, but with Homer it just comes across as an act of pure selfish bastardness. I hate Homer Simpson. The Simpson’s cultural impact cannot be denied, but nevertheless, it is a piece of shit, This show makes me angry and I honestly think people exaggerate its greatness, simply because it has only a handful of redeeming qualities. Two characters and the animation. Not a lot.

I hate this show so much that I remind you to remember that my opinion is almost totally bias. I advise you to watch the show for yourself and make up your own mind. Dont get pissy!

3/10

Benny4700

27 thoughts on “Why I hate the Simpsons

  1. It’s not the longest running show? By far. Check your facts or be more specific as to type of show etc.

    • It isn’t, go research online. Also, fuck this shitty show. It should’ve been cancelled a long time ago just like Futurama. Both shitty shows. But at least they ain’t almost as annoying as Adventure Time. VERY VERY worth taking out your knife and stabbing people… >:)

  2. Longest running Sitcom*

  3. Yeah. The longest running show in the UK is, I do believe, Panorama. I might be wrong, but I’m fairly sure that’s been running since 1953.

    Overall, however, the longest running show IN THE WORLD is ‘Meet The Press’, which has been running since the 6th November 1947…

  4. Keep up the superb work , I read few blog posts on this site and I conceive that your website is rattling interesting and holds bands of superb information.

  5. The depth of humor in The Simpsons seems to be over your head. If you prefer the crass, vulgar humor of Family Guy or South Park more, then so be it. But don’t hate on what you don’t understand.

    Also, please note that the first episodes with the “awful” animation are from the early 1990s. Your criticisms are like complaining that Casablanca isn’t in HD or the Mozart didn’t leave any original recordings; they just didn’t have the technology that they enjoy now.

    • However much I support you right to argue against his review in your own unique way, I’m afraid to say that as his former boss, I support Benny entirely with this situation. He is posting his opinion and that’s all it is. His opinion. If you can’t support him as he risks his credibility by posting such a review as this, then don’t read his reviews. Surely by seeing the title you’ll have known that you disagree with him? Just have a little think BEFORE you start to criticise, yeah? We all do…

      That Guy

  6. well, i hate The Simpsons. people say that we hate The Simpsons because we can’t understand the “”tongue-in-cheek” humor”. what is humorous in that show? it’s crazy. the characters are just brainless people! and i still don’t know how people could enjoy such a dry and pointless blatant jokes. god! and i don’t like Family Guy either and i haven’t watched south park too.. summing up, i hate all these cartoons.

    • Although I won’t argue your points, as humour is different to each person, I am rather fond of Seth McFarlanes work, even if I can’t spell his name. The same for South Park. They have the more ‘shock’ and ‘did they just do that’ humour, which to me, is worth watching.

      • I could never find the Simspson’s style of humor at all funny because it’s annoying. Period.

  7. Alright I guess I have to address some flaws with this. Firstly I guess I have to admit that this is a terrible piece of writing. I’ll admit I was pretty much driven purely by emotion on this one, my hatred for Homer Simpson probably got the better of me, and the writing is bad at best and I didn’t do my research. In fact I’ve watched the Simpsons more and more over the past year and I have to say I do like it, perhaps begrudgingly but I like it nevertheless. The characters are great, vast and memorable, the animation has gotten great and the jokes are generally alright (I usually get a couple of laughs an episode) Nevertheless I still think Homer is a very unlikable character. It’s not like Peter Griffin or Stan Smith where they still do these really douchey things but remain likable, when they do it it’s funny, when Homer does it there’s always a feel that there’s something of a malice involved.

    Oh and South Park is without a doubt smarter than the Simpsons. The satire is sharper and it only keeps getting better while the Simpsons gets worse and worse, even by die-hard fan standards. Mr Dong seems to be living up to his namesake in the sense that he’s accusing me of not doing my research when he calls South Park crass. He seems to be refering more to the older series of the show which I fully admit are mostly dick jokes and such. Nowadays? No, it’s a satirical masterpiece, almost certainly one of the smartest shows on tv right now.

  8. Tell us how you really feel! imo the Simpsons used to be great and it wasn’t because the characters were terribly original, but the show knew how to critique pop culture and comment on social and religious issues without ever getting preachy. To this day it’s still the only show on TV to respectfully depict Christianity, Hinduism, Judaism and Buddhism. Homer used to be a likeable loser, but now he’s too stupid to believe. Bart’s shenanigans used to be kind of funny, now he seems like an obnoxious psychopath. Marge never was good. Lisa is always a know it all….quite simply, at the 10year mark the writers ran out of ideas. Also, the animation was crappy at first, but those early shows are hilarious. The new ones look good, but have no soul. You don’t feel for the characters anymore. They’re all one joke punchlines imho

  9. i agree with you simson is crap this has giving us other crap like family guy and south park and other animation show like this is all the same it is nothing but low class humor i dont watch none these type animation show at all it all same it chould flush down the toilet

    • Hate to burst your bubble, but each of those shows are, quite possibly, in my top 5 animated shows of all time, so, er… You’re wrong. Give them a chance, before you dismiss them, yeah? If you don’t watch animation comedies, you’ll never know if you like them…

      • yes I watch them I still think these show are crap and low class humor that should never been on the air

      • Your sense of humor is just very stale. And some people just think that show’s funny just cause other people do That’s my opinion.

  10. The irony and unfairness of your posts are just so ignorant.

    First, in my opinion the first seasons were one of the best, like Bart Get’s an F from Season 2 ep1, the animation was not top classic level because the animators had to get used to work on the simpsons characters which is understandable, most shows don’t start with earlier seasons having the best animation and plots, a show needs development, both on characters and plots.

    It is kind of unfair of you to judge it so much just for it’s animation and only because Homer is dumb, clumsy, a bad role-model, because of Bart being a brat, Marge being a stereotypical devoted wife, and lisa for being a know-it all, Maggie is just a fucking baby who doesn’t really do shit.

    The irony in your post is that you hate Homer but you love Peter Griffin who does random asshole shit for no reason which makes no sense, the reason why people love Homer simpson is because of his ability to have empathy with his family and feels remorse and guilt for his actions and usually makes up for what he does which Peter Griffin usually only did more in Family Guy until the third season, after that, he very rarely ever did anything good to his family or anyone else in particular.

    Not only that, you are saying you prefer senseless, random humor over plot-driven humor that the simpsons have (okay, some humor from the simpsons really is random, but that is because the simpsons uses a shitload of humor in nearly every scene that so many countries can connect to The Simpsons, but that doesn’t mean it is necessarily non-sensical like Family Guy).

    We loved Lisa because she USED to be a friendly, peaceful, intelligent know-it-all, who spoke for what she believed in but didn’t always overreact about her own beliefs, that is GOOD, Bart was a fucking asshole seriously, but he could apologize and admit everything he did when he realized he went too far on whatever he would have done to upset a character, Marge was a stereotypical wife but is so irrational that it’s funny, she’s sweet and kind, a stereotype yes, but women and mothers could relate to her character.

    Maggie was a baby that usually falls on the ground, but sometimes, did some action so she would do more, and Mr.Burns is not funny anymore.

    Now i hope you get why we loved the simpsons.

  11. Did you even bother to read the previous comment?

  12. Yes because they’re all sunshine, lollipops right now aren’t they :L

  13. The show started to go stale back in the late 90s and slowly died someone in the early 2000s. But they keep dragging it’s corpse on TV. I guess mostly because they want to say it’s the longest running cartoon sitcom in history but nobody likes it anymore. The show is stinking up the Fox cartoon line up. Sort of like when someone in their 30s still thinks they can hang out at the mall and wear teen clothes and even if all the other younger folks are nice they really don’t want that old person there. So no one wants to sound mean and tell them to dress their age. I’m not saying the show sucks because it’s old but the show is stale and used up. The jokes are flat and cliche’ and they keep doing all these spoofs of Pop Culture as a desperate attempt to cling onto what is popular. Once a tv show that was spoofed itself is not hanging on for dear life like a drowning person clings to a life preserver. The Simpsons will do numerous spoofs of other tv shows, movies, books, and themes to try to desperately live vicariously through someone elses work. You know sort of like that 1 kid in the popular crowed that is borderline. They are still sort of good enough to hang but only looks good because of the crowed they hang with. Once this show stood on it’s own and people wanted to be near this show but now the show is like the least popular out of the popular and that’s only because the popular crowd hasn’t got the heart to push them out. All I can say is that you can bathe a corpse and put clean clothes on it but it’s still a rotting body. The Simpsons should have gone out on top over a decade ago. Instead The Simpsons have SERIOUSLY OVERSTAYED their welcome. Sad too. I actually feel embarrassed for all of them.

  14. Yeah. I watched that show, and I really FUCKING hated it, everything. The humor and stories and acting is very fucking annoying, the characters suck, and I actually prefer to watch Family Guy because of this. I’ve always hated it so much even after watching their same shitty old episodes on FOX.

    Also, the show Futurama is bullshit. So fuck that show too. You dip shit unempathic fags.

  15. !!!NOTE!!! This comment will be quite similar to the review above, don’t rage about my comment!

    I hate The Simpsons so fucking much that I want to murder all the characters in the show!

    There’s nothing good about this awful, overrated fucking show, like My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, it’s plain fucking annoying and not funny! The voices (like MLP) are like nails on a chalkboard and the humor is extinct.

    The worst part is Homer Simpson, (a fucking ass-cunt who isn’t funny in the littlest way!) He’s some fucking lazy ass who tries to be “funny” but instead falls flat on his face, his catchphrase (“Doh!”), like what TGTRS said, it was taken from the much funnier and old “The Three Stooges” but he gets all the fame for it! Fucking asshole!
    Randy Marsh, Peter Griffin, and Stan Smith are a lot funnier than this fucking Homer-Asshole!

    I thought that the cunts who made MLP:FiM were bad, just look at this!

    If you want better, much more funnier shows than this godawful shit, watch Ed Edd n’ Eddy, South Park (definitely awesome!), Pingu (I don’t know why?) and Futurama!

    But! like That Guy That Reviews stuff said, the animation is just looking great, it looked crap in the original and looked awesome recently, Maggie and Mr. Burns are the only two characters I like cause they don’t need to be fucking “funny” to be loved!

    I’d give the Simpsons 2/10
    Pros: (Hardly any)

    +The animation (from 2007-8 and above)

    +Maggie and Mr. Burns

    Cons: (Oh my fucking god!)

    -The jokes

    -The characters (exclude Maggie and Mr. Burns)

    -The gags (Kenny’s deaths are better than those unfunny couch gags)

    -The pop references (instead of praising the subject, they make fun of it!)

    -The plots (they’re stupid)

  16. Its junk TV for the brain. Its main objective is to critize everyone else while they embrace their own mediocrity with acceptance. I feel sorry for this generation brainwashed with such socially rebelious junk.

    • How can you point all that out when you username says that you hate political correctness?

Leave a Reply

