Hocus Pocus (1993)


Remember that film Witches of Eastwick? You know the one staring that magnificent b*$&!@d Jack Nicholson as the Devil? With Cher? Yes? Well take that film, hand it over to Disney, remove Satan from it (aside from maybe a cameo-ish), add a number from Bette Midler and what have you got? Hocus Pocus!

The premise is simple. One Halloween night in Salem teenager Max Dennison (played by Omri Katz) accidentally re-awakens the witches known as the Sanderson sisters, Bette Midler as Winifred “Winnie” Sanderson, Sarah Jessica Parker as Sarah Sanderson, Kathy Najimy as Mary Sanderson. The witches must suck the life force from children in order to survive the night and live forever with Max, Dani (Max’s 8-year-old sister) and Alison (Max’s love interest) trying to stop them assisted by Thackery Binx (a young boy who was turned into a cat whilst trying to save his sister 300 years before the movie’s main events took place.

I love this film so much I find it difficult to describe. I love how it can be both dark and funny, the scene where the witches kill the small girl is particularly unsettling despite the fact that little in the way of violence is seen. This is a hilarious film, these three actresses, the witches, are just a riot. Bette Midler has described Hocus Pocus as “The best thing in my career up to this point” and you can tell she’s loving every second of it. I love Sarah Jessica Parker in this film. Anyone who know my taste in women will know that I don’t find Parker that attractive, least of all in Sex and the City. surprisingly she actually looks great in this film, a real change from the way she usually looks. Maybe its the dress maybe its the character, I don’t know.Speaking of the dresses we come to my first complaint. Did they really have to shove Sarah Jessica Parker’s cleavage into every possible shot? I mean, it just seems exploitive and kinda wrong for a Disney movie. Another complaint is that the effects for the cat are just awful. I know it must be difficult but if you look at other films from the time the effects are far superior. I also find it annoying, although funny, that constant reference is made to the fact that Max is a virgin. I know only a virgin can light the candle but we don’t need to be reminded of Max’s status every ten minutes, in fact it seems really strange that Disney use it almost in a derogatory way to describe a fifteen year old. I also thought that the film was hilarious. I honestly laughed more in this hour or so than I usually do in an entire day. Maybe it’s not supposed to be so gut wrenchingly funny but it doesn’t matter because it comes across as one. Perhaps the best thing to come out of this film is one of the best villain’s songs ever sung. Bette Midler’s rendition of “I put a spell on you” is brilliant. It’s also incredibly addictive, I’ve listened to it about 20 times now and I’m still not bored of it. I will be posting a link to it by the way so be sure to check it out:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nDidHzwYu3E&feature=channel_video_title . One of my favourite scenes has to be when the Sanderson sisters mistake a guy dressed as Satan for their master before eating his chocolate and mistaking his wife for Medusa. Words cannot do it justice, the scene is just so enjoyable! The acting is also very good, once again the witches stand out, and you can see everybody is enjoying their roles, once again especially the witches.

A fantastic film but not without flaws, albeit very, very minor ones:

9/10

Benny 4700

3 thoughts on “Hocus Pocus (1993)

  1. Geat review! Made me download it to watch again haha šŸ™‚

  2. I liked up to you’ll obtain carried out proper here. The sketch is tasteful, your authored subject matter stylish. however, you command get got an edginess over that you want be turning in the following. unwell definitely come further before once more as exactly the same nearly a lot ceaselessly inside of case you shield this hike.

  3. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have truly enjoyed browsing your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing for your rss feed and I am hoping you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

