Build Me Up Buttercup – The Foundations


Ok. If you’ve got any sense of humour, you’ll have seen, ‘There’s Something About Mary’, which also means that you’ll have heard this song. Well, now read the review.

This sing was originally written by Mike d’Abo and Tony Macauly, to be released by The Foundations in 1968. This was The Foundations 3rd hit, reaching number 2 in the UK and number 3 in the USA, staying there for 11 weeks. It seems that in the 60’s, music was really as great as they say.

Well, lyrically, the song is amazing. It’s easy to split the song into two sections, lead and backing, with the latter echoing some of the main. This basic set-up allows for just about any audience, those that know the song or not, to sing along as if it was their own creation. And it’s not even as though they wouldn’t want to. EVERY single person I know that has listened to it in my presence, has sang along with at least some of it. Most stopped, due to fear of mocking by others in the area, but some carried on right through to the end. Just the other week I heard it on Radio Rutland (No – It’s NOT advertising!) whilst sitting in a coffee shop at college. Before you ask, yes. I sang along. Whilst reading ‘Feed’, the book I reviewed a few weeks back, and drinking a strong cup o’ Joe. Did some people notice? Yes. Did I get embarrassed? NO! Why? IT’S A GREAT SONG!

It’s also quite easy to learn, but that’s just a personal preference of mine. Why release a song if only a genius can learn it to earn you royalties when you’ve retired?

Favourite Lyrics? The chorus again. It is as follows:

‘Why do you build me up (Build me up) 
Buttercup baby just to 
Let me down (Let me down) 
And mess me around 
And then worst of all (Worst of all) 
You never call baby 
When you say you will (Say you will) 
But I love you still 
I need you (I need you) 
More than anyone darlin’ 
You know that I have from the start ‘

Now for the music. Basic, simple even, yet it works. It’s the use of what appears to be piano, drums and maybe guitar, and trumpet, but with the lyrics being almost impossible not to focus on, it’s hard to actually pinpoint instruments.

However, the music, as said, works. It sounds right for the words. It flows well. Heck, it builds up and drops down in all the right places. What more could you want?

As for the music video, although not an essential part of the song, it can still be quite interesting to experience. In my case, I have only ever seen the There’s Something About Mary music video, which can be seen at the end of the film, as made by the cast. Although they mime and lip-sync rather than actually sing, as they chose to use the original song, the video works. They chose to use specially recorded video as well as bloopers from the film, in order to make a stunning music video.

I also feel compelled to mention that the song was re-recorded in 2003 in order to raise money for a fund set up in memory of Amanda ‘Milly’ Dowler, who was kidnapped and murdered at the age of 13. I only mention this because of the recent discovery of News International’s now non-existant News Of The World having hacked into Milly’s family’s answer machine whilst she was missing. Not important to teh review, but it’s a bit of the song’s history and it’s current affairs. More proof, if any were needed, that I DON’T just lay in bed on my computer all day… Honest.

Overall, a spectacular song, with no real problems. I’ve listened to it 7 times whilst writing this. Even now I’m having to restart it, just so that I can listen and type at the same time. Am I bored with the song? No. Why? Because it’s IMPOSSIBLE to get bored of such a brilliant song. THAT’S WHY!

That Guy

One thought on “Build Me Up Buttercup – The Foundations

  1. Woh I love your articles , saved to bookmarks ! .

Leave a Reply

