Coconut – Harry Nilsson


You put the lime in the coconut and drink them both up. You put the lime in the coconut and drink them both up. You put the lime in the coconut and drink them both up. You put the lime in the coconut and drink them both up. You put the lime in the coconut and drink them both up. You put the lime in the coconut and drink them both up…

I don’t know why, but I typed all that out… WHY!?!

Anyway. Coconut, by Harry Nilsson, is probably the song with the best known chorus lyric known to man. What do you do? You put the lime in the coconut and drink them both up.  Lyrically, the song is terrible. It’s all a collection or repetition, based around the story of a brother and sister who bought a lime and a coconut, which was drank by the sister, who received a belly ache from said concoction. She rang up the doctor, who gave a very long-winded answer as to how to deal with the problem. TERRIBLE LYRICS!

You put the lime in the coconut and drink them both up. This is, this song gets stuck in your head very quickly, especially if you do  what I do and listen to it whilst you review it, so that it’s playing in your head for about 10 – 2o minutes, depending on review and song length. You put the lime in the coconut and drink them both up. Now, I haven’t learnt the song, but I copied and pasted that at the exact time that it was sang. Coincidence? No. It’s too repetitive. That said, I do have some favourite lyrics. They are, you guessed it…

“You put the lime in the coconut and drink them both up.”

Now, normally this would annoy the fuck out of me, but I’ve grown immune to its repetitiveness. How? I hear you ask. Well, two words will suffice. NYAN CAT. I know this is not a review of said cat, but if you can last an hour of Nyan cat, you can listen to the song a few times in a row. Just sayin’.

Now for the music. Well, according to Wikipedia, the deity of all knowledge in the world, there are no chord changes as the song is played entirely in C 7th on an acoustic guitar. I never would have known that. But then again, I have neither the patience or the will power to learn to play an instrument. Rock band is how I Roll. Or Rock in some cases. Or both…

So the music is just as repetitive as the song. Fine. Nyan Cat immunisation remember. Is there a music video? Well, as I finish typing this sentence, I will search Youtube for one. Honest answer, yes. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tbgv8PkO9eo)

Yes. If you’ve opened the link and seeing two gorillas singing to it with a guitar and a piano, then yes, you may think you’ve gone mad. You haven’t, unless I have as well. That would be fun. But anyway. THAT’S the music video. Crazy? Yes it is, but hey, it’s Harry Nilsson. He gets away with it.

So the song itself is shit, but due to its uniqueness, its ability to feel as fresh as a lime-filled-coconut and how easy it is to sing the chorus, I feel compelled to give it an 8/10. I think I’ve gone soft… I guess I better put the lime in the coconut and drink them both up…

8/10

That Guy

One thought on “Coconut – Harry Nilsson

  1. I like this site very much, Its a really nice position to read and obtain info .

Leave a Reply

