Day Of Defeat 1.3


An FPS made using the Half Life technology. Half Life was great. Will DoD be the same?

Ok. Day of Defeat. It’s a First Person Shooter set in World War II. What do you do? Well, that depends on what you want to do. There are 4 main types of play. These are Team Deathmatch, TGP, Realism or CTF. TD and CTF are self explanatory, but the explanations of Realism and TGP are as follows.

TPG is essentially a cross between CTF and Team Deathmatch, with points being awarded for each kill or flag capture. Realism is basically a Team Deathmatch with it being an attack and defence game, in which those who die, stay dead. Simple as.

Now, DoD can be played on your own, against strangers from across the globe. Most people do that. Some people join clans and play with them, occasionally venturing to play on other servers. You could join a Realism Unit to do TD, then the occasional Realism. That’s what I did. In fact, I’m a PFC in the 1st ACD. Also, Haggis is the leader of said unit. Small world, eh?

Of course, as I have kind of played in all three ways of doing so, I have a great knowledge of each. Single life was boring. I never made friends and as such, quickly lost interest. Clan life was not much better. As a member of the Frag Hunters Fraternity, I made a few friends, who all slowly left to do their own thing. I’ve been in the 1st ACD for the last 2 months and I have no intention of leaving. Our numbers may be small, but we are all dedicated to keeping the realism community going strong.

Back to the review. The game-play is great. the controls are simple and the other people playing? Spectacular.

Sound effects. The game has lots of them, with a new one for each way of attacking and for the different terrains you walk on. Then there’s the background sounds like planes and bombs going off. If you start getting into the game, you will begin to think that you’re in a battlefield.

Graphics? I’ll be honest. They’re not great. Will we cope? YES. Just play the damn game. It’s fun and I’m sure you’ll love it. Enjoy.

9/10

That Guy

(Please note that this is a temporary review, which will be edited at some point in the next few days)

4 thoughts on “Day Of Defeat 1.3

  1. I would like to thank you for the efforts you have put in writing this web site. I am hoping the same high-grade web site post from you in the upcoming also. Actually your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own site now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a good example of it.

    • It’s no problem. I relish in the oppurtunity to write and as such, love every minute of running this site. When you do get your site set up, send me a link and I’ll have a look at it, maybe link it as an associate. Good luck with the site.

      Hoping You Are Well,
      That Guy

  2. I really liked the article, and the very cool blog

    • Thank you. It gladdens me to know that people enjoy our reviews. Hopefully we’ll be able to continue being as awesome as people think.

      Hoping You Are Well,
      That Guy

Leave a Reply

