Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets


Ok. Since Ben quit on us, I feel compelled to finish his latest series of reviews. THE HARRY POTTER FILMS.  Here I proceed, with the second film. Enjoy.

Ok. Harry Potter Two. One left us with high expectations. Where will Harry screw up next? How will he fight Voldemort? Why has Voldemort and a series of Death Eaters just appeared behind me and threatened to sue me for copyright? All valid questions. Only one of them is answerable, with the answer being a place. The Chamber Of Secrets.

Now, story wise, the film is very similar to the book. Maybe a few of the places looked different to how we imagined, but heck, what can you do? However, there is one major change. What it is, I don’t know. When I find out, I’ll let you know.

Plot sucked. Simple as that. Ooh. There’s a giant snake scaring people into a coma and now Ron’s sister’s trapped in a basement with it. Lets save her, nearly die and try to free an elf along the way… Correction. House Elf.

Now, what should I say about the story? It’s ok. Not great. Not terrible. Mediocre. Ok. Reasonable. Would scrape a pass at GCSE. Now, the important thing, is that it wasn’t WORSE than the book. In fact, it was my least favourite film and book. Maybe I’m biased, I dunno, but I didn’t think too highly of it.

Now, the best bit was the special effects. Not as great as they could have been, but still, what can you do? The magic effects were moderate and the use of Polyjuice Potion was truly brilliant. The way they made Hermione look like a cat still gives me the collywobbles.

Musically, the film is identical to the original. John Williams strikes again!

Favourite part of the film? It has to be the bit where Harry meets Tom Riddle in the Chamber. We find out a bit about Voldemort’s past and we realise for definite that Harry is truly a great wizard (based on the fact that the Sword of Gryffindor appeared to him) Woop.

Overall, a reasonable film which, despite its crappy points, paved the way for the rest of the films.

6/10

That Guy

PS. Less Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, more Harry Potter and the Chamber of Vast Disappointments and Terrible Plotlines! Am I right or am I right?!?

3 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

  1. This post is very usefull thx!

  2. studying the amount of inputs it appears your blog is really fashionable.

    • Thank you. It means a lot to me to think that people like the blog. Comments like yours always give the team a massive emotional boost which helps make it all worthwhile. I’m glad you enjoy the site and I hope that you’ll continue to visit us.

      Hoping you are well,
      That Guy

Leave a Reply

