Bat Out Of Hell – Meatloaf


Meatloaf. Famous musical genius. Famous actor. famous pie eater. However you know him, you almost definitely love his creation, be it song, film or vomit. Time to check out Bat Out Of Hell…

Bat Out Of Hell is undoubtedly, the longest song I have had the patience to listen to, with the long version lasting a staggering 10 minutes. I wouldn’t wanna perform that live!

I might as well review the intro first. It’s simple, complex and great. How that works, I know not, yet it does. The piano riffing at the start, slowly joined by guitar and drums, sends a musical shockwave down my spine each time I hear it. Or maybe it’s a shiver. I can’t tell. Either way, I love it!

The lyrics work spectacularly. The way that he describes the scene of a young boy dying on the streets, yet manages to turn it into a criminal-civilian love song,  is truly inspiring. The words just fit together like a self assembling jigsaw. The passion in his voice is clearly audible, with his quiet, ye audible backing vocalist(s) giving just as much.

My favorite lyrics? It HAS to be the final verse.

‘Then I’m dying at the bottom of a pit in the blazing sun.
Torn and twisted at the foot of a burning bike.
And I think somebody somewhere must be tolling a bell.
And the last thing I see is my heart,
Still beating,
Breaking out of my body,
And flying away,
Like a bat out of hell.’

Video? I can’t find one. Not a single video, anywhere. If you find one, let us know and we’ll review it and add it onto here.

Overall, I would give Bat Out Of Hell a 9/10. It”S EASILY his best song and you just have to listen to it!

Leave a Reply

