Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire


What better way to return to the reviewing scene, than by continuing my running series of the Harry Potter films? I continue where I left off, with Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire!

Now, I assume that the majority of you reading this, if not all of you, have seen the film, read the book, or both. Good. You won’t argue when I say that this is undoubtedly, one of the best Harry Potter films in the series. In this film, we see Harry becoming a fully fledged wizard, as he has to face the evil in the world, completely alone. Sure, he gets help learning WHAT to do, but the actual application is in isolation… Trapped on an island stranded in a sea of bad guys.

He ends up being listed as a participant in the Triwizard Cup, in which he faces a dragon, an hour of underwater madness and a seemingly impossible maze, which leads him to a graveyard where he can accidentally aid in the return of Lord Voldemort. Stuff happens, right? In this film, we learn a lot of horrible truths about ‘Good ol’ Voldie’, such as his ability to manipulate even the most (seemingly) innocent of people as well as how powerful an influence he really has.

Plot? Well, the plot is actually pretty good. Sure, there’s a bit of madness in it, filled with humour and bickering, but it works. It’s enjoyable, and the death of the innocent student near the end really puts the film into perspective – He was the first wizard loss in the new war against Voldemort. It was regrettable, but needed. And it’s a great way of getting people to show emotion. Heck, the first time, I cried. Not because he died, that was fine, but because of how his father reacted. It wasn’t a crappy ‘Oh no…’ It was a genuine roar of pain as he realised what had happened. Pure brilliancy with the acting.

The cast – Well, read the rest of the reviews and you’ll know. The cast was great. Alan Rickman again passes off his cold sny character as a good baddie, whilst the role of Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes) was played damn near perfectly. Nose off to the man!

Music – Three words – John ‘Freakin’ Williams. Yes, I know that’s not his real name, but bloody hell. He, as usual, makes the music work with the scene almost perfectly. He combines the classical with the modern and makes it an extraordinary experience. I might be explaining it all wrong, but I don’t care. John Williams rules!

Film – Well, as the film goes, it’s very important for the rest of the series. We see the main plotline for the rest of the series, actually start to unfurl (the return of Voldemort), whilst also allowing a shit-load of memes to be created. Yes. I know what a meme is and yes, I like them. The Harry Potter series has spawned tonnes of them and most, are from this film. Another reason to like it.

Sadly, we don’t get to watch the whole Quidditch match. This point alone, as it’s the only bad thing I can think of, entitles it to receive, a 9/10.

Overall, good work J.K and good work Mike Newell.

That Guy

6 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire

  1. Just wanted to give you a shout from the valley of the sun, great information. Much appreciated.

  2. Very good entry. I have been browsing for a while and you gave me a lot of information.

  3. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your website. Ever run into any web browser compatibility problems? A handful of my website readers have complained about my blog not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera. Do you have any advice to help fix this issue?

    • Well, I also have people complaining about Explorer. trouble is, it’s the browser, not the site. Nothing you can do except switch to something else. I use Chrome… Very fast, very efficient.

  4. Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to mention that I’ve really enjoyed surfing around your weblog posts. In any case I’ll be subscribing in your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

