Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince


Well, the Half Blood Prince is next in my Harry Potter review series. This was one of the most anticipated films of the series and as such, I hope I do it justice. Without further ado, here it is.

It sucked!

Do I mean that? Well, yes. I do. You see, I mean to say, that I expect more from a film which has one of the biggest, most unexpected plot twists IN HISTORY, than I received when I watched this film. (So you can grasp just how unexpected this is supposed to be, I would say that Snape killing Dumbledore is almost on a par with ‘No, I am your father’… For those of you who don’t know what that quote is from… GTFO! Nah, I’m joking, but seriously, watch some Star Wars.)

BACK TO HARRY POTTER!

You see, Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince is the 6th book and the 6th film and by now it’s all getting a bit samey. Bad guy does this, good guy stops him. Bad guy does this, good guy stops him. Bad guy does this, good guy stops him. It’s the same for 4 of the last 5 films. By now, I’m predicting what’s going to happen and not just the bits that are copied from the book. I mean the bits that they’ve added to make it more ‘interesting’. So, when I read that Snape killed Dumbledore, I was shocked. When I saw it, I may have known it was coming, but the manner in which it happened didn’t invoke any kind of feeling within me. I wasn’t upset, happy, aroused or any kind of emotion other than annoyed. I should have felt something for Dumbledore as he plummets the few hundred feet from the top of a tower to Splat-Ville Tennessee. Instead, I was disappointed.

Anywho, I should probably skim over what happens in the film, for those of you who haven’t seen it. Set synopsis to fast forward and…

Harry goes to Hogwarts and starts to learn potions. Harry gets given a book, tattered, which contains annotations from the Half Blood Prince (remember that name). Some wierd voodoo stuff happens and people get hurt, including a quidditch tem-mate of Harry, and Ron, who gets poisoned. Harry blames Malfoy, but has no proof (as usual). Harry, whilst this is happening, is learning the secret of how to kill Voldemort, as taught be Dumbledore. They head off to find a Horcrux (an object which contains a 7th of Voldemort’s soul) so thay they can destroy it. Oooh. They get the place, sail across an underground lake, drink some hallucinogenic liquid, fight off some zombies and then teleport back to Hogwarts, where a whole load of crazy shit is going down. They go to a tower, instead of the front door, and Dumbledore has a chat with Malfoy (Harry is frozen and hidden from view) about Malfoy’s task to kill Dumbledore. We find out that Harry was right about the previous attacks (all accidents) before Snape turns up, kills Dumbledore and then flees with Malfoy and a lot of Death Eaters. Harry follows suit and has a one-sided fight with Snape, who reveals that he is Harry’s father… I mean, the Half Blood Prince. Harry gets all upset, they bury Dumbledore and Harry vows to kill Voldemort and Snape, having pity for Malfoy who had the chance, but not the drive, to kill Dumbledore. Summed up!

That was surprisingly long and I was rushing through all of that. Just goes to show that they’ve gone more for plot-line than for filler. That’s good. I like that. Now, the plot itself isn’t actually that bad. I mean it. I like the plot. Snape could have seriously injured Harry in response to Harry’s attacks, but heck, he’s getting old.

The cast remains relatively similar to the rest of the series, so no need to mention it. The same for the music really.

As for the general mood of the film? Well, to be honest, I prefered them when they were all, ‘yay, we’re wizards, let’s do magic and have some fun’. Nowadays, they’re all doom and gloom and darkness will prevail over the souls of the innocent. Not so good. I mean, the series is fine, but it started out all optimistic, but now it’s followed a downwards spiral into some sort of foggy film-noir that doesn’t really compare to films like Basic Instinct. The kind of messy garb that you feel awkward about reviewing because the series used to be so good but the change in pace has dulled the momentum the series has generated in the general public over its run. Just saying.

I suppose it’s a bit harsh me saying the films sucks. I meant it, but now I see that it’s not as bad as all that. I mean, the CGI was quite good and the whole sense of melancholy when we see Voldemort as a kid really fits in with the aura of the character. Just wish the fuckers would smile a bit. Overall, not an overly bad film.

7/10

That Guy

8 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince

  1. Great blog, Just wanted to comment that i can not connect to the rss stream, you might want install the right wordpress plugin for that to workthat.

  2. You pretty much said what i could not effectively communicate. +1

    My site:
    preisvergleich internetanbieter und dsl vergleich anbieter

    • I’m glad you agree with my thinking. 🙂

      Your site looks quite good. My German is a bit rusty and as such I had to use a translator, which did it all literally and as such, scrambled the words about a bit. Didn’t help when it came to understanding it. However, from what I can read, it seems to be filled with useful information. Thank you for referring me to it.

      Hoping you are well,
      That Guy

  3. What software are you applying on your blog? I just switched over from WordPress so I am just getting a hang of things here.

    • If I’m honest, I’m not too sure what software we’re using. With the exception of Google Chrome and the prefabricated layout ‘Freshy’, it’s all a bit unknown to me…

  4. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read anything like this before. So nice to search out someone with some unique ideas on this subject. realy thank you for beginning this up. this web site is something that’s wanted on the internet, somebody with a bit of originality. helpful job for bringing something new to the web!

  5. A person essentially assist to make seriously articles I would state. This is the first time I frequented your website page and up to now? I surprised with the analysis you made to create this particular post extraordinary. Fantastic job!

Leave a Reply

