Shaun of the Dead (2004)


Ah Simon Pegg and Nick Frost how I love you. Hot Fuzz ranks in the top 3 of my favorite films so naturally you’d think I loved Shaun of the Dead just as much? Well lets take a look at the first of the cornetto’s trilogy (Shaun of the Dead is red for blood, Hot Fuzz is blue for police sirens and Worlds End will be green for aliens). Shaun of the Dead.

The film centres around Shaun (Played by Simon Pegg) a 20 something salesman whose life has little purpose and his best friend Ed (Nick Frost) who is a jobless slob. Once the dead rise it is up to Shaun and Ed to save Shaun’s Ex, Liz (Played by Kate Ashfield), Shaun’s mother and step-father (played by Penelope Wilton and Bill Nighy respectfully) and find a safe place to wait for all this to blow over (the pub…hey we’re British, shut up…)

I actually didn’t enjoy this film as much as you’d think. I thought it defiantly had its funny moments, especially the reference to the original Dawn of the dead which , I am shamed to admit, took me a while to find (We’re coming to get you Barbara!!). The characters we’re likable and the acting was great., plus I think special notice should be given to the brilliant cast, ok let’s try this, *deep breath* Simon Pegg, Nick Frost, Bill Nighy, Penelope Wilton, Dylan Moran, Peter Serafinowicz, Jessica Stevenson, Martin Freeman, Matt Lucas, Julie Deakin, Tasmin Grieg, Reece Shersmith, not to mention all the cameos… *collapses from exhastion…again…* I love the premise because I don’t really think many other films look at the zombie genre and thinks, mmm all this mindless gore and bloodshed missing something, it could be funnier, lets throw in some comedy! Well Fido did it…and then Zombie land later on but in all honesty I haven’t seen those films and even then I think Shaun of the Dead is the film that really perfected it and made it staple. The way the character of Shaun is done really well. The scene in the car with his Step-father is actually quite moving, not to say that I cried…I only do that when I’m drunk…and lonely…and slightly bitter…I digress… The scene when the mother dies hits me like a brick wall, it is acted perfectly. There is also realism in the film. Did anyone really think that barricading themselves in a pub would work with zombies? I mean, it’s hardly fort is it? Well the alcohol helps but whiskey and twiglets can only keep you alive so long. Now for the bad points. I didn’t like the girlfriend. I mean the actress was good but I just didn’t like the character, further more the ending in general disappointed me and this is mainly because of the type of zombie in the film, they retain their memories from their lives. Now although this gives a lot of funny moments, just look at the Trisha clip and the game show. It leaves us with a scene where Shaun goes to the shed and plays on his x-box with Ed which is touching and shows us that their friendship survives pretty much anything but even so I didn’t really like it because, in a way, it diminished the horror of the film. There is a thin line between comedy and horror. It’s difficult to make something funny scary but easy to make something scary funny and usually you don’t mean to. Generally the film balances these two aspects very well but these final few moments it sort of diminishes.

All in all I enjoyed this movie, not as much as Hot Fuzz but for what it was I thought it was alright. I’m almost sure most of you will disagree and I encourage you to. Frost and Pegg are two very talented young men and their films always deliver…except for Paul…I heard that was crap…Other than that I look forward to Worlds End.

5/10

Benny4700

One thought on “Shaun of the Dead (2004)

  1. I like this post, enjoyed this one appreciate it for posting. “To the dull mind all nature is leaden. To the illumined mind the whole world sparkles with light.” by Ralph Waldo Emerson.

Leave a Reply

