Where Is The Love – Black Eyed Peas


Well – FINALLY time to carry on with my contest series. Remember, if you can tell me what the link between the reviews is, you win a prize. All information located on This Post.

Where Is The Love was first shown to me through a fan-version of the video (found here) , which showed a series of events connected to a series of war based atrocities over the last 30 – 40 years. I later used the same video in a presentation about War, as part of our speaking and listening course in GCSE English. Benny4700 was there at the time and as I’m sure he’ll confirm, it was quite an emotional experience…

So, what is the song about? A bunch of rappers questioning where the love is? Pretty much, but it’s put into a context. The context of life. Where is love when we live in a world like this? I say that it’s in the families. Not every family, but the families that actually care about each other. A rare occurrence in the media, but if you actually go out there into the world and look for yourself, you will see that people do generally care about their relatives. I do. You do. We all do… Sort of…

So, if the context is so good, is the content the same? Well, I believe so. I’m not a fan of rappers, rapping or rap music in general. In this case, I think I can make an exception. It works. The use of the music genre most commonly associated with gang-crime, being used as an anti-war piece is a BRILLIANT idea. I know that the following has sort of become my catch-phrase, but it works.

So, sentiment and opinion aside, let’s get to my opinion shall we?

Musically, the song is actually quite good. The simplicity is met with seeming complexity, which is in actuality, more simplicity. I like simple things. That’s why I’m dating That Girl. She’s easy to make happy. A hug usually does it. If not, a kiss will. Simple. I can do what I want and she can do what she wants and when we meet up, we’re both happy because we cheer up easily, regardless of why we’re so depressed in the first place. SIMPLE!

Personal information aside, a simple song is a good song. Don’t get me wrong… I like a complex song… I just think that less, is more…

Lyrics? Again, rap is not my ‘thang’, but I get that in this case, the forced rhyming helps this song to flow and as such, works spectacularly! I mean, seriously! The chorus is the only thing that seems to have been properly written, yet, it feels as though it’s only a minute part of the message.

I would normally continue with my favourite lyrics from the song, but to be honest, I don’t think there’s any one bit that can be specified as being the best bit. Just listen to the song and tell me that’s it not all good. Now tell me if without lying!

It’s a tough one to rank. Not my favourite song, but it’s definitely on my desert island playlist (which does have a few 3/10’s on there…)

8/10

That Guy

(There’s still about 40 more reviews until the end of the contest, so keep sending in the ideas as to what the link may be – No winners so far…)

9 thoughts on “Where Is The Love – Black Eyed Peas

  1. Pingback: Yolande

    • If people are willing to write, I’m willing to check it over and accept it. If you want to write something, let me know what the topic will be (so that no-one else here writes about it) and e-mail the post to thatguythatreviewsstuff@hotmail.co.uk so that I can post if for you.

      Thank you for offering to write us a post and I’m glad that the two of you enjoy our writing. We put a lot of effort into most of them (I’m not so sure about Benny) and it helps us to know that people enjoy them.

      Hoping you are well,

      That Guy

  2. Pingback: Simone

  3. Heya just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same outcome.

    • Yeah. As far as I’m aware, they’re mostly on Benny’s posts. I’ve told him, but he keeps telling me he’ll get round to it… I’ll let him know you’ve contacted us about it and hopefully he’ll do something about it.

  4. This design is wicked! You obviously know how to keep a reader entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it. Too cool!

    • Well, if you wanted to do a few guest-posts for us, I don’t think we’d mind… 😉

      Thanks for the kind words. Have a great day/evening/night…

      That Guy

  5. Hola! I’ve been reading your weblog for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Porter Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the fantastic work!

    • Happy to be of service. I’m glad that you like our reviews and it’s brilliant to know that we’re getting hits from out there in Texas. Thanks for the words of support.

      Hoping you are well,

      That Guy

Leave a Reply

