Wherever You Will Go – The Calling


The next step of my current music series. The contest is over, but I’ll still do a dedicated post to the first person to tell me what the theme is. Email or comment with your guesses.

If I could, then I would
I’ll go wherever you will go
Way up high or down low
I’ll go wherever you will go

My favourite lyrics. I thought I’d get it out-of-the-way this time.

Why, I hear you wonder… Well, to me, these lines show dedication. They show a man who is determined to be with the woman he loves, regardless of where she goes. Wherever she goes, he’ll be there with her. That’s what love is all about…

Now, to the song. I was under the impression that this song was originally written by Ellie Goulding or whatever her name is (you can tell I’m not up to speed with music).

Regardless, this song has brilliant sound and a superb musical team behind it. The guitarist starts off simple, easy going and then turns it up to 11, with the drummer following suit. The lyrics get more and more angst-y as it goes along, becoming one of those heart-break style songs. The man loves the woman, yet she seems pissed off about it. I might have misunderstood, but if I’m right, then she’s a bitch…

So, what’s so good? Well, I think it works well. The band obviously have a lot of passion for the song and to be honest, I can understand why. It has a genuine level of feeling about it. We can relate to the pain the singer is obviously feeling. People might think that’s a song-review-get-out-of-jail-free-card but it really isn’t. Can you relate to Bat out of Hell? (9/10) No. You’re not a convict that’s ‘fallen in love’ with a woman whilst on the run. Simple as that.

What was my point again? I’ve forgotten…

Regardless, I like this song. I know this is a short review, but I don’t really know what I can say about this song. I mean, I like all of it, right up until ‘run away with my heart’. It works RIGHT UP until then.

7/10

That Guy

<iframe width=”420″ height=”315″ src=”http://www.youtube.com/embed/iAP9AF6DCu4&#8243; frameborder=”0″ allowfullscreen>

Leave a Reply

