Benny 4700’s Oscar Predictions 2012


Well the Oscars are upon us once again and, just like That Guy, I think I should share with you my views on who deserves to leave with that tiny little golden man. Have I seen half of these films? Sadly not, but I will use what I know to make the best predictions I can. Enjoy!

Best Picture

Nominations: Hugo, Midnight In Paris, Moneyball, The Tree Of Life, War Horse, The Help, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, The Descendants, The Artist.

Alright, I’m gonna come out and say it. I read in Empire that Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close is not Oscar worthy and, with the little I know about the film, I can agree. Why did they put 9/11 in it? I can’t say, maybe it was a marketing ploy but I don’t think it was nessercery, unless there was something in the film that directly related to it. Th Descendants is directed by the same guy who directed Sideways, which is a really good movie, so that equals a good few brownie points, plus it has Clooney who is a great actor. War Horse…I can’t see me liking it that much. The whole thing about the horse trying to get back to the boy, I don’t buy into it. I’m sure it is good in places and it does look like it can be a tear-jerker but, no, not for me. The Help does look great and Hugo is by Scorsese and is widely acclaimed but for this one I have to go for the Artist. Any film that can get that much praise despite the fact that it’s a black and white, silent film in this day and age, deserves the Oscar. It’s cleared up at the BAFTAS and I’m sure it’ll do just as well here.

Winner: The Artist

Actor In A Leading Role

Nominations: Demian Bicher (A Better Life), George Clooney (The Descendants), Jean Dujardin (The Artist), Gary Oldman (Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy), Brad Pitt (Moneyball).

I’ve never heard of Deimian Bicher so he’s out of the running for me…Sorry I guess…The other’s are far more difficult. Pitt is brilliant, I saw him in Burn After Reading and ,of course, Se7en which remains one of my favourite films of all time. Clooney is great loved him in Burn After Reading, Dujardin must be great, once again he’s relying totally on visual acting, no speech whatsoever, meaning he has to double his efforts to ensure the actions convey the mood. For me though, the winner is Gary Oldman. Holy freaking Jesus is this guy incredible. He was Sirius Black and Gordan in Batman, he really is a gem, one of the country’s finest acting talents. It would be sacrilege to vote for anyone else…Whats that? That Guy voted for Dujardin?…FOOLISH FOOL!!

Winner: Gary Oldman

Actress In A Leading Role:

Nominations: Glenn Close (Albert Nobbs), Viola Davis (The Help), Rooney Mara (The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo), Meryl Streep (The Iron Lady), Michelle Williams (My Week With Marilyn).

Although this is a little easier than Best Actor, I’m only able to remove Mara, and the others fall into two sets of two. I have seen Viola Davis in clips and she does seem like a great actress. Marilyn Monroe is one of those people who is legendary and for Michelle Williams to be nominated for her portrayal of her says A LOT. I’m sure she’s a great actress and will go far but for me, it boils down to Meryl and Glenn. I though it would be easier choosing but it really isn’t. I’ve never seen Albert Nobbs (or heard of it) and Thatcher is a big character so it swings heavily in Meryl’s favour. Meryl Street was in Death Becomes Her but Glenn Close was in Fatal Attraction. I would rather Glenn win but I’m certain Meryl will win it. Seeing as I have to choose one and seeing as Meryl already has her share of Oscars, I have to go with Glenn on this one. Meryl, we love you, but Glenn just has more room to fill on her mantlepiece. I predict that Meryl will win it but I want Glenn to.

Winner: Glenn Close

Actor In A Supporting Role:

Nominations: Kenneth Brannagh (My Week With Marilyn), Jonah Hill (Moneyball), Nick Nolte (Warrior), Christopher Plummer (Beginners), Max Von Sydow (Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close).

This category is a lot easier. Three immediately stand out. Max Von Sydow, Christopher Plummer and Kenneth Brannagh. Plummer was in The Sound of Music but seeing as I’ve never seen that and am almost certainly basing my opinion of him solely on edelweiss, I can’t let him have it. Max Von Sydow is incredible, he’s pretty much the Swedish John Hurt, he was in the Seventh Seal AND the Exorcist for Christs sake!! I would, however, be butchered if I didn’t go with Brannagh on this one. He can chew as much scenery as he likes, I think he’s a sensational Shakespearean actor and I’m sure he’s exceptional in My Week With Marilyn.

Winner: Kenneth Brannagh

Actress In A Supporting Role:

Nominations: Berenice Bejo (The Artist), Jessica Chastain (The Help), Melissa McCarthy (Bridesmaids), Janet McTear (Albert Nobbs), Octavia Spencer (The Help).

Well don’t I feel uncultured…I don’t know any of these women…Well I suppose I have to choose one…Err…Octavia is a really cool name…Yeah lets go for that…Octavia…

Winner: Octavia Spencer

Animated Feature Movie:

Nominations: A Cat In Paris, Chico and Rita, Kung Fu Panda 2, Puss In Boots, Rango.

I have to say I can choose immediately which one of these I want to win. Never heard of A Cat in Paris or Chico and Rita. Puss In Boots, much as I love Antonio Banderas, is completely unnessarcery. Kung Fu Panda 2, I know nothing about. Rango has Johnny Depp and a freaking rattlesnake in it. Yeah the plot is a little cliché, the big guy gets brought down to the level of the little town and learns something etc etc, but Johnny Depp is a freaking incredible actor. Rango wins.

Winner: Rango

Cinematography:

Nominations: The Artist, The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, Hugo, The Tree Of Life, War Horse.

Well the visuals for War Horse had to be great but then again The Artist was in black and white and, being a silent movie, had to rely much more on visuals making them a thousand times more important. Hugo does look incredible from what I’ve seen so I think I’m gonna have to go with Hugo on this one.

Winner: Hugo

And there you have it, my thoughts on the main awards for the Oscars, the biggest event of the movie making year. I hope you’ll all watch tonight, God knows I will. Hell, I even have my Oscar drinking game at the ready courtesy of Empire magazine. Here’s hoping everybody tonight gets what they deserve that the speeches are kept short and not on the scale of douchebaggery that is James Cameron (king of the world my ass) and that the losers have been practicing their “It’s alright, they needed it more” smiles.

Benny4700

Leave a Reply

