Gentleman Broncos


Ok. It’s been a LONG time since my last review, so here I am, trying to re-assert myself as the leader of this ragtag team of reviewers. Huzzah!

Where can I start? Gentleman Broncos is a comedy film from the year 2009, made by the same guys that made Napoleon Dynamite and Nacho Libre. They were both… Interesting films. What about this one?

So, what happens?

A kid goes to writers camp and hands in one of his novellas as a competition entry. A famous sci-fi writer steals it and makes it into one of his own stories, whilst the kid gets it made into a shitty movie. A bit of shit goes down and the kid gets his original story published and it goes on sale INSTEAD of the imitation version written by the sci-fi writer.

The story, whilst dragged out quite a bit and inter dispersed by extracts from the two novellas, is actually told pretty well. The shit going down bit is quite quick, but slow at the same time. You have just enough time to see how it’s going to pan out, before it pans out. I like that.

The cast was pretty good. When you have names like Michael Anganaro (Sky High), Jemaine Clement (Flight Of The Conchords), Sam Rockwell (The Hitchhikers Guide To The Galaxy), Jennifer Coolidge (American Pie) and Mike White (School Of Rock), you know that something’s going to go well. I mean, sure most of them have had their big shots at stuff, but these guys manage to pull off their fairly crappy characters and make them seem likeable. I mean, Mike gets shat on by a snake in his first scene…

Musically, the film’s pretty sucky, right up until the credits, where we hear Kansas with Carry On My Wayward Son, which has DEFINITELY been overdone for credit music. However, in terms of the actual film, I suppose the music was quite fitting and as such, should be scored positively.

Now, this is supposed to be a comedy, with a mostly comedy cast, yet I cringed more than I laughed. No word of a lie. I got bored and went to grab a sandwich. I didn’t miss much. Not good. No major laughs and a bit of cringing doesn’t make a great comedy… No-sir-ee-bob…

What else can I say? It was an alright film with an alright cast, playing alright characters with nowhere near enough jokes…

6/10

That Guy

Leave a Reply

