Tower Heist


A film starring Ben Stiller, Eddie Murphy, Matthew Broderick and a few other actors? Worth a look, right?

Let’s have a look shall we?

So, the film starts out with us meeting the characters as they go about their business in and around the hotel known as ‘The Tower’. We watch as some people get fired as a result of some mild vigilante action, before planning a robbery to get back at a guy who’s stolen their pensions. They carry it out and, well, I won’t ruin the ending for you…

The plot is well carried out and, I’ll be honest, just developed enough to be brilliant. I’m the kind of person that can fall asleep in a film with relative ease. With this film, I was watching with intent. I had to know if they succeeded. I had to know if the characters would all get out of it alive. I had to know if, well, the bad guy would lose.

As for the characters… Well, they were superb. Ben Stiller was a great criminal leader, whilst Eddie Murphy was surprisingly good at acting out the role of a thief. They can both play the┬ábad-ass┬árole pretty well.

There’s this one character, a doorman named Lester, who won me over barely moments after I first saw him on the screen. He’s a friend to the kids, a friend to the entire staff of the hotel and the only character that attempts suicide. He had me laugh, had me scared and most of all, made me worried for his well-being. That’s a well acted character.

In terms of humour, I believe that the film was quite lacking. The main two stars of this film are comedy actors and I’m being honest when I say that I thought they’d be funnier in this film. Sure, there were laughs, but there was also a shockingly large amount of action as well, which caught me out. I liked it, of course, I just didn’t expect it.

So, it’s round-up time. Well written plot, great cast/character set-up and some cool action, but a lack of humour. So, what’s my score?

9/10

That Guy

Leave a Reply

