Five Years Time – Noah And The Whale


Noah and the Whale. I admit. The first few times, I kept calling them Jonah and the Whale. Embarrassing, I know, but it happened. Sod it, right? The BIG question, though, is what do I think of this song? This one song? The only song of their’s I’ve heard? Let’s see…

The song, Five Years Time, is surprisingly upbeat. I mean, in a time like this, you expect songs to be a bit more… Gloomy, but they’re not. They just seem to be a bit cheerful. More than you’d expect, anyway.

Noah And The Whale

Noah and the Whale… Wait… I see no whale… They task me. They task me and I shall have them!

So, Noah and the Whale are a four man band, are they? Nothing wrong with that. I like a man band. They seem to know what they want and how to get it. Some of the best bands in the world were man bands. Look at The Beatles and Queen. Yeah. There we go!

The song starts with a bit o’ whistling. Whistling is great. I can’t do it at home, as it annoys people, but when I’m at college, or out and about, I whistle along to tunes. Nothing too bad. Just gives me a chance to entertain myself. You know. Like I do…

After the whistling, we get the relaxed, yet damn-near-perfect guitar work. I like guitar, particularly acoustic. Why? Because it sounds so great, yet so calm as well. That’s the best kind of guitar. Then, of course, you get the ukulele style guitar, which I now think might actually be the acoustic I’m thinking of. I should probably watch the video… I like the ukulele. Can’t play it, but I’ve seen a few people play them and they sound great!

Musically, the song is brilliant. I’ve been stuck humming it along for the last few days now, so I know what I’m talking about. Honest. I think this is, quite possibly, one of the greatest songs in existence. Maybe. Maybe not. I hope so.

Lyrics. What can I say? They don’t stick to the expected rhythm, but rather, go off on a wild tangent, occasionally walking over the route we expect it to take. That’s what I call good lyrics. It really is…

‘Oh in five years time we could be walking round a zoo
With the sun shining down over me and you
And there’ll be love in the bodies of the elephants too
And I’ll put my hand over your eyes, but you’ll peek through’

I like the lyrics and as far as I’m concerned, they work for the mood and the music. That’s what you need rom lyrics, isn’t it? They need to go with what else you’ve got. They can’t just be, well, normal. They need to have that thing about them that stands out. In this case, its humour, uniqueness and that, erm, je ne sais quoi. True story!

9/10

That Guy

Leave a Reply

