Losing My Religion – R.E.M.


I’ve given up on writing my contest series of reviews, due to a serious lack of answers given by readers. As such, I’m going back to whatever songs I feel like reviewing at any particular time. As such, if you have any requests, just email them, or comment with them and I’ll review them as quickly as I can. I’m nice like that… Honest!For now, though, I’ll review some of R.E.M. Here’s their song, Losing My Religion. Enjoy!

Well, I’ve heard of people losing faith in a religion, but I’ve never heard a song about it before. In fact, I lost my faith many MANY years ago, even if I do keep occasionally meeting up with a few missionaries, who keep thinking they can convert me. It’s a shame they’re not Catholics, or I could just show them this image:

Pope Palpatine

Something… Something… Something… Down with condoms…

Ah well. The Pope’s the Pope. He can shit in the woods if he wants…

So, what about the song? Well, here’s the review.

Lyrically, the song’s pretty good. It’s a bit… Simple in places, but that’s to be expected. I mean, what the heck, right? We can’t all have complex lyrics like Rotterdam, or, erm, Bohemian Rhapsody… Yeah. Bohemian Rhapsody. Here’s a snippet:

‘That’s me in the corner
That’s me in the spot-light
Losing my religion
Trying to keep up with you
And I don’t know if I can do it
Oh no I’ve said too much
I haven’t said enough’

Now, I’ll be honest. I didn’t know a few of those lines until just now, so maybe it’s more complicated than I thought. Ah well. Hang me for it! Regardless, look at the lyrics and tell me that they follow a normal pattern. Tell me that they do. Now, look in the mirror as you shoot yourself in the head for lying or have major cognitive failures. Your choice. I don’t mind which. In all seriousness, don’t kill yourself. If you’re here now, you’ll probably be looking at more reviews and God only knows we need more hits… I jest. We’re fine. But please, don’t kill yourself…

So, what about the music then? Well, the music is simple as well. A bit of light drumming as a guitar repeats the same few chords in a rhythmic fashion. It’s almost hypnotic, in a way. Funny, really. I just yawned. Yeah. It’s hypnotic. The thing is, I like the hypnotic nature. It makes me feel… Alive. Somehow. Don’t ask how. I don’t even know…

What else do I review? Well, normally, I do the video as well, but I’ve decided to stop doing that, so that’s pretty much everything I can say. Ok then. Let’s score it shall we?

In terms of being able to be sang along to, it’s terrible, but that isn’t everything that a song needs to be, is it? Some songs, you just want to listen to and leave at that. THIS is one of those songs. We need to just sit and listen sometimes. You know when they want you to sing. You just… Know…

I’ll be honest. This song lacks something. Maybe it’s coherence. God knows I’ve spent the last few weeks of my life trying to sing along to songs like this and I just couldn’t get my head around the lyrics. Yeah. That’ll justify my score…

7/10

That Guy

 

Leave a Reply

