Blink-182 – All The Small Things


All the small things? I thought I’d sworn all my exes to secrecy…

All The Small Things

All The Small Things, by Blink-182, is one of those songs I’ve always sort of liked, but never really listened to, for no real reason. The infamous Claudia introduced me to this song after all the years of knowing I liked it, and here I am, finally, reviewing it.

Ok. Lyrically, it’s quite a lovey-dovey song. Honest. It is! I mean, think about it. He knows that she cares about him, and he appreciates it. Also, she really shows in it one of the greatest ways possible. No, not a blowjob, but roses by the stairs. I mean, woah. That’s love, right there. How many women have you left roses for? Be honest… Not many, I bet!

Lyrically, the song is great. Here’s my favourite lyrics:

‘Say it aint so, I will not go
Turn the lights off, carry me home
Keep your head still, Ill be your thrill
The night will go on, my little windmill’

These are, without a doubt, the weirdest love song lyrics of all time. They seriously are! I have never, in all my years of listening to epic songs, a good 1/3+ of which are love songs, heard lyrics as messed up as this… I love it though!

The music’s pretty neat, in the sense that it progresses as you’d expect, with the instruments you’d expect. The drums maintain their steady noise for most of the song, and the guitar just sounds great. The vocal use of ‘na na na na… etc’ is actually pretty well done, and what would appear to be a mocking use of one syllable words, is actually one of the greatest vocally transitional sections I’ve ever heard. I’m impressed. I mean it. I am!
Ok. So, there’s no epic guitar solo, but there is a drum build up, so that sort of saves the song…
8/10
That Guy
Leave a Reply

