Alright – Supergrass


Ah. A song which starts with the easiest piano entrance in the existence of music, and yes, I know Mary Had A Little Lamb… I just wish I knew how to play Alright…

A song about being young and enjoying it. What more can you want? It’s, like, the song for everyone. Who DIDN’T enjoy being young? Well, I can name a few people, but forget about them and tell me that you don’t miss the good old times you had. I miss my time in year 4, right through to year 6. I really do. Every single second of them. I miss a few people as well…

Joseph Anderson, Fiona King and Ben Quiggly. If you are reading this, I hope you still remember me. I was the weird kid at Parnwell that knew what a Cosmonaut was, and ran faster with taller soles. Yeah. That’s me. I miss you all…

Now, back to the review, before I break down into tears over how much I miss those that were my old school friends… There were others, but these three… These three were the ones that had the biggest impact on me as a person. I remember our year 6 leavers play. I played Charlie Bucket, Joseph played Willy Wonka, Fiona played Mrs Bucket and Ben played Mr Salt. I think that was how it worked out… I forget…

NO! Review the damn song, Jordan! REVIEW THE DAMN SONG!

The greatest and simplest music intro of all time, ever, in my ears. Man I love this intro. I mean it, I really do. I mean, seriously. It’s the same note for about 5 seconds, followed by a slightly lower version of the note, over and over and over throughout the song. The hardest job the pianist had in this song, was the running around for the video. True story!

The rest of the music’s alright as well. The guitar (I think I hear one) is quite light, but works and the drums, only just heard to me, fit the backing piano quite well. In terms of music, it’s an almost full score.

Lyrics:

We are young, we run green,
Keep our teeth, nice and clean,
See our friends, see the sights, feel alright,
We wake up, we go out,
Smoke a fag, put it out,
See our friends, see the sights, feel alright!’

What’s not to like? They’re living the life, exactly how they want to. They’re young, they love running and they brush their teeth. Sure, they smoke, but hey. I’m a liberal. What’s not to allow?

Overall, not a bad song. It’s not the best song I’ve ever heard, but I’ve never seen someone listen to it and be sad throughout. It’s a heartwarming song if there ever was one!

9/10

That Guy

Leave a Reply

