Silence Of The Lambs


Silence of the Lambs is one of those films that I’ve sort of always wanted to watch, but, at the end of the day, was sort of scared to. I mean, sure, the fact that first time I actually saw any of it, that was actually from the film, rather than a parody, I was eating a meat-feast pizza, probably didn’t help, but it definitely helped me strengthen my stomach…

So, Silence of the Lambs… What can I start with? How about a combination of, ahem…

EWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW! OOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOH! WHO?

Yes. It’s one of THOSE kinds of films. You REALLY don’t know all the facts until it’s too late. I mean, sure, some of them are a bit predictable, like stealing his face. I knew, when they found the ‘policeman’s body’, what he’d done, as well as knowing that cocking his revolver, or whatever it is that you do so that you can shoot with them, would get him killed. Just saying. However, I didn’t realise that he was going to tuck his dick between his legs and pretend he had a pussy. I just didn’t expect that. I should have, because he’s fucked up like that, but I didn’t. Also, I won’t show a picture because I, unlike some people, am a nice person. Instead, I’ll show you the Family Guy Parody!

And, for the sake of comparison, here’s the original. I’m a dick really.

You would NOT believe just how long it took to find that video…

So, where do I begin, now that I have begun… The plot seems like a good place, so let’s continue here, shall we?

Clarice Starling (Jodie Foster), is told to interview Hannibal ‘The Cannibal’ Lector (Anthony Hopkins), an ex-psychiatrist-turned-psychopath, in his cell, in order to get his help on another murderer known as ‘Buffalo Bill’ (Ted Levine). After a long time in which she interviews, converses with and eventually plays with Hannibal, he brokers a deal with a US Senator, whose daughter has been taken by Bill. The deal involved sharing information about Bill’s identity, in order to get a cell with more relaxed security. He manages to escape, just after Clarice finds out he has given a false name (Louis Friend, an anagram of iron sulfide, also known as fool’s gold.) Whilst she continues looking for clues as to Bill’s choice of first victim, the FBI tells her that they have found where he is and are en-route to apprehend him, as well as that she should continue looking into the first victim. It just so happens that she visits Bill’s house, purely by accident, finding out as a Death’s-head Hawkmoth flies around the room, being the same kind found in one of the victim’s throats. She goes to apprehend him, but he hides, turns off the power, puts on his night-vision goggles and goes to kill her, cocks his gun and gets shot repeatedly, before dying. The film ends with Clarice getting hired by the FBI, along with a phone-call from Hannibal, who tells her that he is not going to chase her and that he is having an old friend for dinner, the guy in charge of the asylum he was in at the start of the film.

Masked Hannibal

“Now, how am I supposed to prepare a meal for the two of us if you won’t undo my restraints?”

What a plot! I mean, woah! I say woah a lot, but this time, WOAH! This is quite simply either the best plot I’ve ever seen, or the most fucked up thing I have ever had the fortune to pass my eyes across. I think it’s both. I really do. I mean, who DOESN’T like the film psychopath and his mannerisms? They’re what make the film, regardless of what film it is. True story!

So yeah, I like the plot. A bit predictable in places, as I mentioned before, but I may just be a genius that can see what’s coming, before it comes. Maybe…

The characters and cast are brilliant. The casting, in my opinion, is damn near perfect. I can’t speak for Levine as Buffalo Bill, as I haven’t seen him in anything else, to my knowledge, but Hopkins and Foster as Hannibal and Clarice are perfect choices. Foster’s great at playing a very serious role, whilst Hopkins is scarily good at playing the playful psychopath. I should keep an eye out for him in case he gets pissed about his position in my top 50 actors list… Ah well.

Angry Hannibal

Please… No! I need my liver!

Of the film, I think my favourite characters have to be Multiple Miggs, because, for some reason, I can connect with him. If I was locked away in a cell for a number of years, I’d end up masturbating a lot. My other favourite? Obviously Hannibal. In fact, Hannibal IS my favourite and Miggs is second. Hannibal has the best lines, such as his exchange with the senator. Spectacular script writing. I wish I was part of the team, even if it meant I was the guy that made the coffee…


I can’t embed the aforementioned scene, so here’s a link… Enjoy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G1IayQ9MAl4

Not a lot more to mention really. Watch the film and judge for yourself. The score being like it is? It was too predictable. If it wasn’t, I would have been a perfect score. Sorry guys, but it’s true.

9/10

That Guy

2 thoughts on “Silence Of The Lambs

  1. Wow, great links and a a great review. As i have read and remember the book, would you like me to review that as well?

Leave a Reply

