Becoming An Adult


Becoming an adult is something I have wanted to do since my 10th birthday. Of course, I haven’t been able to until today – my 18th birthday. In fact, I wasn’t technically an adult until this post was published, at 2:44 Pm, 31st May, 2012. That, my dear readers, was when I became an adult. If you’re reading this, then I am officially an adult. Here’s my thoughts on the process.

Adulthood. What a scary prospect, eh? I don’t know how many of you readers are of each age group, but to my knowledge, a large part of our readership are 17-20 year olds. It’s true. That means that most of you will either be on the brink of adulthood, or will have become one recently, and are aware of what I speak.

It’s hell. It really is. I’m writing this particular section a few days early, so that I can get sorted out before the actual event, but even now, 3 days before becoming 18, I know that my life has officially got worse.

Sure, we all think that being an adult means we’ll get the respect we deserve, and that now we’re old enough to look after ourselves. Well, guess what. I don’t think I’m ready for that. I really don’t. Not yet. Give it a few years and I might be, but for now, I’m a 17-and-362 day old male from the UK, that’s scared to grow up.

It’s not all it’s cracked up to be, you know. I’ve tasted adulthood before. There’s nothing special about having the responsibilities of the world placed on my shoulders, with hardly any of the due respect. It’s like living in a world made of ice cream, but no-one will give you a spoon.

I am expected to be the best that I can be, despite my mere 18-years experience in breathing, my 17-years experience in walking, and my years of experience in various other topics. I was always good at maths. Then I started college and that pissed on my bonfire. I suck at it. I really do. I have an exam on the 31st and I’m going to be sat there, in a half-filled hall, wondering what to do on question one. Sure, I know what to do, I revise and I put the effort in, but I just don’t get it.

That’s what becoming an adult is like. You know that you’re great at something and then WHAM!. Something comes along and shows you that you’re average, at best.

For now, though, I seek solitude in the fact that I can now drink alcohol in pubs. No wonder there’s growing concern about alcoholism.

Leave a Reply

