R.I.P. Eduard Khil


I can guarantee that 99% of you will not know who Eduard Khil is, from his name, yet the vast majority of you will know exactly who he is, once I say the words Mr Trololo.

I found out about Eduard’s death today, yet the signs were all there on Monday, the day of his death. BBC Radio One was playing his song in the afternoon and the shock of its presence distracted me long enough to ignore what was being said. Eduard died on Monday, 4th June, 2012 and most of the world will only ever see him for his role as Mr Trololo, the man who set Youtube ablaze with repetition and awesomeness, all wrapped into one nice, Russian, bundle.

I liked Eduard, not just for his singing, but for his look. He had sort of an aged Mr Bean look to him, bringing me feelings of warmth and happiness whenever I saw him. Eduard was not just a man who could say trololo at great speed, and to a great rhythm, but also a man of infinite jest and wonder, who entertained the world through the internet meme. He was, in my eyes, brilliant. I’ll miss you Eduard. I’ll miss you a lot.

As always, our thoughts are with the family and friends of the deceased.

R.I.P. Eduard Khil

R.I.P. Eduard Khil, 1934 – 2012

That Guy

Leave a Reply

