Entrapment


Entrapment is a film I’ve heard of for many years and always thought of it as a good word for a complicated thing. Having seen the film, my opinion has not changed and probably won’t. Starring Sean Connery, Catherine Zeta-Jones and Ving Rhames, Entrapment was released in 1999. Here’s what I thought.

First off, I didn’t know what I was going to think. It’s a film with a high-end criminality feel to it, since they’re, essentially, cat-burglars. Regardless of this, my overall opinion is still of uncertainty.

So, plot. “Gin” (Zeta-Jones) is sent to investigate Mac (Connery), who is the prime suspect in a Rembrandt robbery. She finds him and tries to convince him to help her in a robbery. He agrees, so they go to his secluded castle in Scotland. There, they plan a robbery of a Chinese Mask worth loads of money, and carry out the heist. After the success of their crime, she reveals a bigger heist – $8 Billion from Kuala Lumpa, in the final seconds of 1999. They carry out said heist, but Mac is caught, due to a failure in the escape plan, and a premature removal of a laptop cable. embarrassing. He makes a deal with his captors, to hand her over to them, but secretly helps her escape via train. The FBI chase after her, but she jumps onto a second train mid-station, and returns to Mac. Together, they board a train and plan another robbery.

Plot-wise, it’s not the worst I’ve ever seen. I mean, sure, there’s some stuff going on that doesn’t seem relevant and it twists itself round a lot. To start with, we’re under the impression that she’s playing him, then that she’s playing everyone, and then it’s revealed that he’s played her, but in reality, he hasn’t. It’s mental. You couldn’t follow it if it was leaving behind bread-crumbs. It’s good though. I keeps you on your toes.

The characters are well portrayed, with Connery playing Mac, the educated and experienced cat-burglar, who uses his lack of feelings for Gin to get him through the film, until he realises that he does, in fact, have feelings for her. It’s strange, but it’s true. How he copes, I don’t know. Zeta-Jones did a decent job of playing Gin and does what she’s supposed to do well. She’s supposed to portray a sexualized and seductive woman, which, as I said, she does well. Her whole attitude is one of trying to seduce. I’m not great at noticing these things, but I really noticed it with her. I mean, her whole ‘watch me go around these laser beams’ routine was a clothed strip-tease… Almost.

Gin Laser Practice

Yeah… Just look at the curvature of the buttocks, the way the body’s pressed against the floor and the serious level of concentration in her form. She wants you, dude. She wants you good.

Ving Rhames as Mac’s buddy and FBI bloke was a reasonable role, but having seen him as Marcellus Wallace in Pulp Fiction, I’m stuck with images of him being raped by a policeman and his mate… Not the best image to have, after 5 years of acting. It will, sadly, be his most remembered role and I feel sorry for him. At least he’ll always be remembered though.

So, the acting was alright, the plot was alright, the music was… unnoticeable. It’s one of those films where you sort of don’t know what to think. I mean, sure, it was alright, but is that enough to score it? I’m afraid it has to be, because I can’t think what else to say, other than commenting on the famous quote. You know the one I mean.

Sean Connery

Gin: I said this is called entrapment.
Mac: No, actually it’s called blackmail. Entrapment is what cops do to thieves.

Man, I love that quote. Don’t know why. Maybe it’s his accent. Yeah. Let’s go with that.

So, what would I score it? Well, how about this? It’s not a great film, but it’s one that was worth watching, if only to see the laser scene and the quote. Yeah. That’s a good enough score.

6/10

That Guy

Leave a Reply

