Highway To Hell – ACDC


So, it’s been a LONG time since my last review. Weeks and weeks and weeks. Okay, maybe 3 weeks at most, but still. It’s been a while and I said I’d get reviewing again. For that, I apologise profoundly. I’ve been busy, but there’s no excuse for it.

As a way of making it up to you, I’m now going to review every song in my music collection, minus a few film soundtracks (like the repeated theme of the 28 Days/Weeks series), once a day, maybe every other day, alphabetically, until they’re all done. Without the exclusions, I have 259 songs, so in theory, I have a years worth of reviews here, if I don’t manage every day. It should be fun, and if not, well… Fuck it, right?

So, Highway To Hell, by ACDC. What can I say? It’s a song I’ve heard many times, in many settings, with only one purpose. Make people head-bang. The ending of ‘Little Nicky’ (the Adam Sandler comedy film) has it playing for the two rockers who died in a plane crash to dance and air-guitar to. Awesome, if I must give an opinion on that.

So, we’ve got a band that knows how to rock, a song that sounds like rock and most importantly, a reviewer. Let’s get this show on the road!

Anyone can air-guitar. Absolutely anyone. It takes someone good to do well at air-guitar. The difficult thing is air-drum. if you can air-drum, you’re frickin’ amazing and, as far as I’m concerned, a God among men (or women, if you are female). This song is one of those to drum to. It really is. Simple in places, but it slowly builds up and then POW! Then simple again. Maybe it is simple throughout and the guitar puts me off. I dunno. Regardless, drumming to this, correctly, is tough and would be cool.

So, I like the guitar, the drums and the general sound of the song, but what about the lyrics?

Well, to me, they’re a bit lacking. Not as good as they could be. I mean, look at this.

Living easy, living free
Season ticket on a one-way ride
Asking nothing, leave me be
Taking everything in my stride
Don’t need reason, don’t need rhyme
Ain’t nothing I would rather do
Going down, party time
My friends are gonna be there too

CHORUS

Something there just seems a bit slap-dash. I mean, sure, it refers to not needing rhyme or reason, but still, I’d expect a pattern in the wording of the song, other than it adhering to some rule it just made up. A rule, might I add, that I agree with. Look at every rock song you know. Tell me it doesn’t stay uniform, in some way, throughout. Every step is a reasonable step from what was just there, but discussing a highway to hell, however figuratively, has nothing to do with the party he refers to. I mean, come on.

So, crappy lyrics, but good music. No comments on the video, because I didn’t look and as you should know, I don’t do that anymore anyway.

What can I score it? 7 seems too high considering the lyrics, so I’ll settle for this.

6/10

That Guy

PS. If anyone has any suggestions for my playlist, send me your suggestions via comment or email. You can always reach us on thatguythatreviewsstuff@hotmail.co.uk if you ever want to arrange a conversation and, as always, thanks for reading. We never say it, but we always want to.

The reviews are being done by alphabetical order of band, so the next review will be ACDC’s ‘ThunderStruck’ and after that, Aerosmith’s ‘Dude Looks Like A Lady’.

Leave a Reply

