Avril Lavigne – Skater Boi


Ah. One of my ‘guilty pleasures’. We all had a crush on Avril, didn’t we? I know a number of blokes that did/do/jack off to her each night wishing they were falling asleep beside her… I’m not one of those guys, by the way, and I really hope I don’t know anyone that does the last. In the off-chance that you do, please, for the love of God, don’t tell us…

I’ve been trying to classify this song by topic for a while now, and I’ll be honest, my gut was right. It’s a love song. A lot of them are. it took me a while to realise, but, like, 75% of my collection counts as love songs. Scary, when you think that a lot of people see them all as soppy, and we all have a shit-tonne of them…

So, it’s a rocked up love song, by a moderately attractive, if shark-look-a-like woman. Watch her smile… You’ll know what I mean…

It’s the story of a girl, that rejected a boy, who grew to be a rock-star, and she now dates. That’s what I get from it. I might be wrong, but what do I know?

The music’s too heavy for me. I think it needs to calm down, maybe have an acoustic version and just go a bit slower. It would work. We all know it would… Why force people to have an audio attack of guitar, drums and vocals? Chill out, man… Chill out…

The lyrics are okay, and sang quite well. She knows her songs. That’s for sure. No-one can deny that. She gets the most out of every word, line and verse, pushing it to its edge and seeing how much it wriggles in pain before easing up and moving on.

I don’t really know else I can say about it, really. I think I’ve covered everything as best I can. I guess that brings us to score. Given that the music’s only so bad at the chorus, and that for the rest of it, there are no real problems, per-say, this is my final verdict.

7/10

That Guy

2 thoughts on “Avril Lavigne – Skater Boi

  1. Hello, you used to write great, but the last few posts have been kinda boringˇK I miss your tremendous writings. Past several posts are just a little out of track! come on!

    • I have to completely agree with you. I’ve lost my touch, and It’s been gone for a long long time. I’m trying to get it back, but it’s proving difficult. Other than the most basic of templates for each review, I have no formula. The normal write-ups are improvised and the larger ones get more attention because they deserve it.

      What I guess I’m trying to say is, I’m trying to get back to how it was, but it’s tough. It’ll take time, and I just hope that loyal followers like yourself will still be here when I finally achieve what we all want.

      Thank you for reminding me I need to step up a bit. I needed someone to say it, and since I’m the only one actually posting anything, it’s fair to assume I’m the only writer that comes on anymore… Thank you. I needed a reader to tell me and you’ve done just that.

      I hope you are well, and that you stay with us for many reviews to come.

      Yours,

      That Guy

Leave a Reply

