Autophobia


Autophobia is one of those that sounds like one phobia, but, in reality is another. No, it isn’t a fear of automatic doors. Guess again…

Autophobia is, I’m reliably informed, the fear of being alone, isolated or without someone. I have that. Big time. It is, in my eyes, my biggest fear – the fear that, one day, everyone around me will be gone, and I’ll be alone in this world to pick up the pieces, sort of like the typical lone survivor of the slower post-apocalypse films, games and books.

28 Days Later

Or in 28 Days Later, which I maintain, is a spectacular film.

Just imagine it – YOU, whoever you are, are alone in London, one of the most famous cities on the planet with the assumption that you are entirely alone for miles around. You could be the only human left in the world.

What do you think? Personally, I’d start to wonder if everyone else had just been a figment of my imagination and that, somehow, I can no longer sustain the fantasy of life around me. I would go insane, and I don’t want to go insane. I know I’m mad, but losing the plot completely would upset me – a lot.

So, you’re alone. No loved ones. No-one to talk to. Not even that annoying prick you hate, but can’t bring yourself to tell it to. They’re all gone. Everyone, everywhere, with no known way of bringing them back.

That is the kind of thing that destroys people. Now, in 28 Days Later, he was lucky. He ran into zombies pretty quickly, then ran into other people shortly afterwards. He had, at most, a day of being alone. We can all cope with that – heck, I crave the days of being alone to my own devices, because I know it’ll be over and I’m not alone forever.

That’s why I don’t spend ages on Minecraft. I’ll be wandering around an empty world, with naught but greedy AI to keep me company. I might as well be alone, especially after I’ve killed everyone and retired to my mountain lair…

So, the fear of being alone. I know, I just know, that I’ll die alone, and I don’t want to. I want someone there. Don’t get me wrong, there’ll be someone in my life, but either they’ll be away when I die, or they’ll die before me. I don’t want either of those. I want them by my bedside as I swear¬†allegiance¬†to whatever deity is most popular at the time…

So, I’m afraid of being alone. What do I think about it? I’m not happy. Not happy at all. It is, to me, the greatest fear of all. So, my score? High for being a great fear, or low for me hating it? High.

9/10

That Guy

Leave a Reply

