Blink-182 – All The Small Things


You may remember that a while back, May in fact, I reviewed this song. I did. I checked. I was going to copy and paste that review and pretend it was new, but realised, that would be cheating. You’re welcome.

I’m re-writing this review for two reasons. One, it’s the next song on my current list to write as part of my series of songs I own (being done in alphabetical order). Two, it’s a dedicated post that I need to have written by, like, 20 minutes from now. Ah, the things I do for people…

So, All The Small Things. What can I say to start this off? Last time, I thought the lyrics to be quite kooky, with the music being the redeeming factor. I can change my mind, however, so here we go…

The lyrics are still kooky. I don’t care what anyone says, you don’t call the woman you love a windmill. What does she do? Wave her arms around in a circular fashion? Who does that? I know my girlfriend doesn’t… Not with me around, anyway…

It is, still, however, one of the most amazing love songs I can think of. It’s a man telling his partner that he knows she will be with him whatever happens, that he knows she loves him and that, in all honesty, he feels exactly the same. He adores that woman. He adores her in ways that he can’t seem to say without calling her a windmill. He adores her in a way that makes him think, “Hang on,whatever happens, this is the woman I love and I don’t want to be away from her. I know she’ll be wherever I go and, to be honest, I like that.”

Now, I may be reading it wrong. Maybe he’s a selfish lover, but don’t we all feel like that sometimes? I know I do. I always feel as though I’m making my relationship about me, about what I want, about my problems, when she’s as important, if not even more so, than me. She’s, like, the most important thing in my life and I never quite manage to show it in a way that doesn’t make me look like a dick. Even now, in a review dedicated to the woman I love, I’m going off topic and talking about how much I wish I could tell her all things I just can’t tell her because I know I’ll end up saying it wrong and will make myself look like a dick. That’s not good. That’s not good at all…

I love her though. I tell her and do my best to show her, and heck, isn’t that what he does to her, or rather, what she does to him? She leaves him roses, he dedicates a song to her. It’s all relative. So very relative.

The music now. Oh the lovely music. I like rock music. I love rock music. It’s, like, the second best kind of music of all time, ever. Why? It’s heavy, yet it’s relaxed and slow and upbeat and sad all at once. That’s love. It’s heavy, it’s relaxed, it’s slow and by God it can be upbeat and sad all at once. It’s like, every emotion into one, because there are times when you feel everything and it’s conflicting and what can you do, other than just sit there and experience it?

But back to the music…

The guitar and the drums are great. They make the song. Why? Because they do, alright? They just manage to get into your head and all you want is to go “na-na-nana-nana-nana-na-na” along with it and then you’ve got the guitar fretting and the drum build up and it’s like an orgasmic rush of enjoyment as the song just explodes into the final chorus. It’s brilliant.

What else can I say? I’m overly critical of my ability in relationships and I under-rated this song last time. I really did.

10/10

That Guy

Leave a Reply

