Bobby McFerrin – Don’t Worry Be Happy


Don’t Worry, Be Happy, the ultimate feel good song. It is. Don’t deny it. It either pisses you off, or cheers you up and with me, it’s always the last one. If I’m feeling down, I give it a listen and BAM! No more sadness. It’s useful. It’s also pretty great. Here’s why.

So, let’s start with the music. It is almost entirely noises made by the human body. Whistles, “oooh-ing”, humming, bopping and singing. It’s all what people can do with their mouths and hands. It’s so easy to replicate, especially the famous “woooo-hoooooo-oooo-oooo-ooo-ooo” that everyone thinks of when they remember the song. It’s a song which lives on in people’s minds even long after they have heard it. It’s great. You want a song that people will remember for many years to come.

Lyrically, it’s so simple as well. Don’t Worry, Be Happy, is one of the lines that sticks out… I’m not sure why… But no, it’s a list of reason to worry, followed by “Don’t Worry, Be Happy”, which is a great message, and one that I tend to pass on. Whenever anyone presents a problem to me, I confront it with “it’ll be alright”. Nearly every single time. It’s true. I do.

Now, as for my favourite lyrics, it’s the time he says don’t worry be happy, about 3 minutes, 12 seconds in. Why? Because it’s more rhythmic than the rest. It follows a tempo increase in the music and just feels more as though he meant it, than any other time it’s said. True. Friggin’. Story.

So, that’s it for what I think. Is it perfect? No. Not by a long shot. The music starts to wear down after a while and sounds like a goat’s farts, but only if you listen to it 6 times in a row like I just have. Maybe I’m biased because I’ve just listened to it for so long, but, well… It’s not a perfect song and that’s a shame.

8/10

That Guy

2 thoughts on “Bobby McFerrin – Don’t Worry Be Happy

  1. Sounds like you’r getting depressed about listening to the song too much, maybe you should listen to it again to cheer yourself up :p

Leave a Reply

