That Guy’s 2012 Playlist


So, as you will know, unless you’ve been living under a rock with a starfish who befriended a sponge in 4-sided trousers, this week marks the supposed end of the world. Yes. We’re all “going to die” on the 21st. Poppycock, I say. I’m working for one. Not gonna waste my final day at work and as such, we won’t die on the 21st. Simple as that. However, in the off-chance that we do all die, I will spend the night listening to my apocalypse play-list, which I am about to compile, and thought you might want to find out about, so, well… Here it is.

To start things off, how about some R.E.M. with “End Of The World”? Seems fitting, right? I thought so. I’ll follow that up with some ACDC  with “Highway To Hell”, which is, undoubtedly, the road I’ll be taking when I die.

Why not follow that up with the Black Eyed Peas and “I Gotta Feeling”, because I’m going to make sure that night is one I’ll enjoy, even if I won’t be where I want to be. Then, some “Bat Out Of Hell” by Meatloaf, to add some class to my apparently upcoming demise, becase what better song to end on, if I had to choose, than that one?

Well, I know a better song to end on – Europe’s “The Final Countdown”, because I can guarantee there’s a clock somewhere, on the internet, which is counting down the minutes until “we all die”.

Status Quo’s “Rocking All Over The World” will follow, as who can deny that there’ll be parties happening in every country on the planet, everyone trying to enjoy their final night on this planet, whatever the cost. As such, I’m sure Bon Jovi’s “Livin’ On A Prayer” will be a great choice for my playlist, which is why it’ll feature next on the list.

“Don’t Worry, Be Happy” by Bobby McFerrin will follow, as I’m sure we’ll all be freaking out by 10pm, all wondering when we’ll actually pop our clogs. We won’t, by the way. Just saying.

I’m sure riots will occur, so we’ll follow up with “Anarchy In The UK” by the Sex Pistols, and then “Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door”, by Bob Dylan, as it’s easily the best version to listen to on your final day of life. I should probably save it until later in the evening, but, to be honest, I just want to make sure it’s on in time, and I’m probably going to go onto shuffle anyway, so, you know…

“Holding Out For A Hero” by Bonnie Tyler will be there, as if something does happen, I’m going to want to be saved from whatever peril occurs, not that I expect there to be any peril. Cage The Elephant’s “Ain’t No Rest For The Wicked” will definitely be on the list, as I won’t be resting until I’ve seen the 22nd in completely.

“Yellow” by Coldplay, will be there, because it’s my favourite love song, and given the choice, I’d be with my girlfriend at the end of all things, because, well, you know… She’s pretty fucking amazing. “Two Ticket’s To Paradise” by Eddie Money, will follow, as if I had any, we’d both be using them to get away. Just to ease in the romantic mood again, I’ll go with “Are You Ready For Love” by Elton John, because I like that song. A lot.

Now for an instrumental, known as “In The House In A Heartbeat”, by John Murphy, which serves as the most popular piece of music from the 28 – Later series of films. You’ll probably have heard it in a Strongbow advert, lately.

“Stairway To Heaven” by Led Zeppelin and “Freebird” by Lynyrd Skynyrd will play, as they epitomize the ending of life, to me, and will be there at my funeral, along with lyrics, for everyone to sing along to, regardless of how grief-stricken they might be.

“Blinded By The Light” by Manfred Mann, will feature, as if I do manage to get to Heaven, I will be, so, you know, I might as well prepare for it. “Don’t Look Back In Anger” by Oasis, will appear, as I don’t want anyone to look back on life angrily when the end does come, be it on Friday, or any other day. “Together In Electric Dreams” by Phil Oakley, will also play, as I want to ease in that romantic feeling again. I’m cheesy like that.

Queen’s “Don’t Stop Me Now” will play, because I’m going to have myself, a real good time, especially whilst listening to Richard Ashcroft’s “Science Of Silence”, which will calm me down, ready for Stealer’s Wheel’s “Stuck In The Middle With You”. I won’t explain why that’s playing.

“How To Save A Life” by The Fray, will play because I like irony. “Sympathy For The Devil” by The Rolling Stones will also be on, because I want to be on good terms with him if we do meet. Toplader’s “Dancing In The Moonlight” will play because that’s where I’d rather be, but it’s too cold for that here…

U2’s “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” will probably appear, because I like that song, and it’ll set me up for “With Or Without You”, again by U2, which is a final attempt at the romantic feel to the end of the world. “Jump” by Van Halen, will be on, because I want the world to realise that sometimes, music can make things better, and that’s one of the things I get from “Jump”.

“La Grange” by ZZ Top will also play, because I will probably play some driving games whilst the night unfolds, so it fits in with my driving songs list from before. “I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing” by Aerosmith will be my REAL last ditch attempt at romance, whilst “Stand By Me” by Ben E King will accompany it for the apocalyptic-love link.

The Scissor Sisters with “I Don’t Feel Like Dancing” will play because by now, I’ll be shattered, and I’ll want to chill, but shan’t, because I’ll be singing all of these songs. Ha.

Finally, because I know how the timings work on these things, I’ll end with Mark Owen’s “Four Minute Warning”, hopefully at 4 minutes to midnight, counting me down the last few minutes of the night, unless we die before midnight. I dunno. We’ll see, won’t we?

So, that’s my playlist. That’s what I’ll be listening to at midnight. I dunno how long the playlist is, because it won’t tell me and I can’t be arsed to add it all together, but I assume it’s about, oooh, 2 hours, give or take? We’ll see on Friday. I hope you join me with these songs, but if not, then don’t worry about it. It’s up to you. I suggest you have a quiet night in with the people you love, though, doing what you enjoy, until midnight, before falling asleep, ready to awaken on Saturday.

That Guy

Leave a Reply

