That Guy’s Top 10 Christmas Songs


Well, since we didn’t all die on the 21st (not that I expected to), I’ve had to have a last-minute rush to get all my Christmas stuff sorted. Since it’s Christmas tomorrow, I thought I would share my top ten songs for Christmas, and, in my opinion, the only Christmas songs worth listening to.

That said, let’s all have a looksie, shall we?

10 – John Lennon – Happy Xmas (War Is Over)

So, John Lennon with Happy Xmas (War Is Over), get’s my number ten spot. Why? It’s calm, peaceful and it is being sang by John Lennon. However, it just doesn’t have that shazam that a top 9 Christmas songs needs, for me. It’s missing something. It might be that teensy bit of oomph. Notice how there’s no oomph at all? It’s a bit depressing to be honest, because even Mother, a depressing song of his, had oomph. I like oomph, and without it, this song will always be my 10th favourite Christmas song.

9 – Chuck Berry – Run Run Rudolph

Run Run Rudolph was first brought to my attention, properly, with the BBC Christmas adverts either last year, or the year before. Probably the one before. Yes, 2010. Why do I like it? It’s jazzy and it’s Chuck Berry. It’s his 3rd best song, in my opinion, and no, Johnny B. Goode is not number one… So, why do I like it? Jazzy, oomphy and, most of all, I sort think it takes me back to before my life sort of fell apart a bit. Yeah. Nostalgia beats John Lennon. Prepare for a lot of that…

8 – Slade – Merry Christmas Everybody

I once tried to parody this song, whilst at college, for the university fee protests, that later became a riot. Scratch that. I DID parody this song, only it didn’t get recorded. I’ve got the lyrics somewhere. It’s one of my fondest memories of college and, somehow, it made me like song just that little bit more than one about a flying reindeer. Wanna know something which contradicts my fondness for this song? Every time I hear it, I want to kill something, because it reminds me of the closest I had come to musical recognition, before I, essentially, gave up on it. We could have recorded it… We should have… Why oh why…?

7 – Jackson 5 – Rocking Robin

Yes. Rocking Robin. Might not even be a Christmas song. I hope it is. I love it. It’s playful, tasteful and everyone can sing it well – even me. I don’t know how. It’s fun to whistle, a laugh to sing to and it’s a group one that you can’t help to bop to. You can’t. Even as I type, I’m to the rhythm of the song… It’s like my fingers are dancing across the keyboard… Heck, they are… It’s a great sight to behold… Trust me…

6 – Wizzard – I Wish It Could Be Christmas Everyday

Well I Wish It Could Be Christmas Every Daaaaaaaaaay – even if it has a creepy “are you ready kids” bit at the start, this is still a Christmas song that you can’t help but enjoy. We love Christmas, don’t we? It’s a great day, and the most wonderful time of the year. Do we wish it was Christmas every day? Not really, but it’s nice to pretend that we do, and that, my fellow reader, is what makes this song so great.

5 – Paul McCartney – Wonderful Christmas Time

Okay, I don’t like the “ding dong ding dong” or the “ooooooooh” or the “ooh, ooh ooh, ooh ooh ooh”. It’s only really the title line, that I like it, but it’s sang so perfectly, and it makes me think of the younger days of my life. So much younger. The days where Christmas was the thing I said I wasn’t excited by, but still couldn’t sleep on Christmas eve. You know why I won’t sleep well this year? I’m sick. I’m sick at Christmas. Work was a nightmare because of it. I’m chirpy, normally, but not today. Shame that, right?

4 – Coldplay – Christmas Lights

If you read my review of last year’s Christmas, to be found here, you’ll know that this song is how I summed it up. it didn’t really feel like Christmas at all. I got in trouble for that, but I’m a firm believer in freedom of speech. Ha. That said, it is now my anthem for Christmas. It’s the song I can’t help but listen to when I get that Christmas spirit, to remind me not to get my hopes up, because it’s not really that great a day. Coldplay are my favourite band and they summed up my Christmas experience perfectly, with 4 and a half minutes of sound. That, my dear reader, is skill.

3 – Bo Selecta – Proper Crimbo

Ah, Bo Selecta. It’s one hell of a show, and they made a great Christmas song. It was great and here it is, in my 3rd favourite Christmas song spot. Why? It’s funny and I know the words, or at least, most of them. The Thriller parody at the start had me chuckling about 5 minutes ago, and even now, just listening to it, the elephant makes me laugh… It’s just one of those you enjoy, whoever you are.

2 – Band Aid – Do They Know It’s Christmas

Do They Know It’s Christmas, would have been number one this time last year, but this year, I’ve heard a better song, one with less meaning, but a greater feel behind it. It’s a remarkable song, this one, mostly because you can see they’re all enjoying themselves and doing some good as well. We tried to copy it, with another song, a while back, when we had the big floods here in the UK, about 5 years ago. We failed at selling, but we had a laugh. I’m in the video… If Sting had been happy when he wasn’t doing the group singing, it might have improved the song. To me, it’s best bits are Bono’s line, Boy George’s change of expression and the truth that this year, the greatest gift they’ll get is life, which is sad, but so very true and, to me, truth is what makes a song great. It has to be real and this song… This song is.

1 – The Pogues Featuring Kirsty MacColl – Fairytale Of New York

What can I say? It’s Irish folk style and I love Irish Folk. That’s why “C’est La Vie” is one of my guilty pleasures. The pipe, the drums, the guitar, the build-ups, the to-and-fro of the couple. I dream of singing this properly, with the Irish accents, with my girlfriend, but doing the voices as well as we possibly can. I feel bad having not told her this, but she’ll be reading this soon anyway, so she’ll know that I’m messed up like that. I can’t do the voice anyway – I go into Bob Dylan when I try to be Shane McGowan… It’s depressing…

Anywho, those are my top ten Christmas songs of all time. As usual, if you disagree with any of the listings, feel free to comment and tell us what you think. We value your opinion immensely and, regardless of what you may think, I do read EVERY single comment, personally, and respond to those relevant to me, or that I find worth responding to. Just think about that.

Hoping you all have a remarkable Christmas.

That Guy

Leave a Reply

