The Warriors


Okay, so, here’s a film review, about a film from 1979. Probably one of the oldest films I’ve reviewed (easily in the 5 oldest) and one of those films I knew existed, and had always wanted to watch, especially since I played the game of the movie, on my X-Box.

So, all the major gangs of New York City have been called to a meeting in Pelham Park (I think), but the host is shot. The Warriors, a gang from Coney Island, are blamed, and hunted down by every gang in the city, as well as the police. What starts as nine gang-members, none of whom have any weapons other than their wits and strength, slowly becomes a fight for survival as they try to get back to Coney Island.

Well, what do I think of the plot. It was ruined for me by the game, which, to be fair, is good. The game was damn-near spot on, scene-for-scene, with the movie, and actually added something useful to it, unlike most games. I could recognise lines, scenes and characters, as well as locations, all from the game. Now, that doesn’t tell you what I thought of the plot, does it?

I liked it. It was a bit cliché at times, and very predictable in some places, but generally speaking, it’s a film which speaks to the wannabe gang-member inside each others and says “don’t even think about it”. It’s a film which, were it legal to show in schools, would probably reduce gang membership by a considerable amount. But that’s just my opinion.

What were the characters like? Well, some of them were neat. For some reason, unknown to myself, I connected with a few of the characters and found most of the main ones engaging. Ajax and Snow were great characters, and the conflict between them made for good story-telling. Ajax had a few good lines, my favourite of which was:

“I’m gonna stick that bat up your ass and turn you into a Popsicle”

Now, as threats go, that’s one of the better ones I’ve heard in a LOOOONG time.

The acting was a bit corny, but I think that was to make up for the fact that it’s a 1979 film, with comic-style sections. It could all be a way of completing the effect, or it could just be crap. I’m leaning towards the latter, but desperately hoping for the former.

The soundtrack – well, I like the intro music, and the use of songs was neat. Other than that, I’m not too sure what else I can say.

So, that’s the film reviewed. Any closing remarks? Yes. There’s a lot of underlying messages in The Warriors, none of which I really picked up on at all, so, in reality, they may not exist at all.

What score? It’s got to be this, based on the generally good quality of the film, despite the piss-poor acting.

7/10

That Guy

Leave a Reply

