Bonnie Tyler – Total Eclipse Of The Heart


Well, I must say, it’s been a VERY long time since I did a review, and particularly, part of my music series. It’s been more than 3 months. THREE FLIPPING MONTHS. I’ve been slacking. Well, hopefully, no more, at least, not today.

So, instead of excuses and apologies, I’m just gonna start reviewing. Here, I have Bonnie Tyler’s ever-famous, Total Eclipse Of The Heart.

My first real experience of this song, was in its literal video version, where they changed the lyrics to fit the video. It made me laugh, it made me smile and by George, it made me like the original song. Don’t know how. Probably the mullet with headlights joke.

So, what do we have? Well, we’ve got Bonnie Tyler’s voice, which sounds as though it hurts, belting out a classic, all the while to the backing of piano, drums, some weird instrument I can’t think of the name of and refuse to check, plus the backing singers. Oh, and I think there’s guitar in there. Sounds like it.

Now, I think there’s too much. You just can’t admire it all at once. Keep the backing singers. get rid of the guitar, maybe even what I think is an organ (that mystery instrument), leaving it to the drums, her voice and the backers. It would lose a fair bit of the oomph, but it would make it simple, effective and, in my opinion, just a tad bit better. I haven’t checked, I’m not that good with sound-editing software, but chances are I’d prefer that to this.

So, the music is too involved with itself, or something else which sounds intelligent and means there’s too much of it.

Lyrically, I don’t think I get it. Something about needing someone, and together they’re great and could go all Guy Fawkes on the world. ¬†Something like that. I probably don’t get it. Regardless, it works, it fits the music (before and after the changes, I bet), and it’s fairly easy to learn. Score up for Bonnie on this one.

So, overall, because, remember, I don’t review the videos, I think it’s a good song. I think it’s got too much music, but only other music “professionals” can be sure on that one. We’ll score this, oooh…

7/10

That Guy

Leave a Reply

