Lovefool – The Cardigans


This is one of those songs that I’ve known for a long old while, but never really knew more than just a few lyrics to. Truth be told, I only knew a line or two, but its a pair of lines that stand out so well.

Lovefool is about exactly that – a woman who is in love with a man and so desperately wants to be with him even though it won’t work. I presume it’s a heterosexual relationship, but I shouldn’t. There’s no way of knowing for sure, because as far as I recall, the lyrics don’t specify.

Its sort of wistful, in a way, as she thinks of the joy she had and wants, but knows, deeps down, that it isn’t worth the hassle and that she can find another, more deserving love.

The chorus is catchy and I caught myself whistling it on the way to work this morning, despite having not heard it since Friday. What are the chances, eh? Either I have a crazy memory, or it is catchy. They again, I whistle a lot of things on the way to work. Tomorrow, it’ll probably be ‘Make Me Smile (Come Up And See Me)’. I like my life like that.

So, Lovefool. What can I say? It’s a song that will stick with me for a long old while and no matter what, I think you should hear it, just so that you know what I’m rambling on about.

8/10

That Guy

Leave a Reply

