Tubthumping – Chumbawamba


Finding a song that you can call a Sing-A-Long, is quite hard. It has to be a crowd pleaser, and I’ve already reviewed a fair few of them, I’d say and given yesterday was a cop-out, I won’t let today be one too, and so, here’s the inspirational song of fighting, alcoholism and large crowds singing together.

I have known this song for many a year and, no matter what anyone says, it will have a number of meanings and influences and anything I say, from here on in, is about what I think about the song. You all know that by now anyway though, right?

Tubthumping, to me, is all sorts of songs, depending on what you feel. It’s the alcoholic’s anthem. It’s the tale of the guy who is down on his luck and is drinking the happiness back. It’s a cheerful football chant. It’s a song about guys getting drunk and fighting and getting back up because they can’t feel the pain. It’s about, no matter what, being able to get past the bollocks in our lives and living happily.

To me, it is each of those and all of those and none of those. No one can deny that it’s upbeat, and so, cheerful. It doesn’t make you want to cry, so that’s one point in it’s favour. It’s also a song with a catchy bit perfect for a crowd to sing. You know what I mean…

I get knocked down,
But I get up again,
You’re never gonna keep me down…

And so, this is a sing a long song. And of course, it works for drinking games. Here’s how it works. You get a lot of whiskey, vodka, lager and cider, then do a shot of each when they sing about it, do a mega-shot of all 4 when someone falls over, and two mega-shots when they get back up again. Listen to the song for half an hour and I guarantee two things.

First, you’ll all be very drunk. Second, if you are out for the night, you’ll be asked to leave.

But what about the song? Well, it’s cheerful and happy and they’re the best songs. I like a bit of drinking, I like a bit of singing and I like a bit of subject ambiguity, particularly when Wikipedia doesn’t help, and so, I like this song on 3 counts.

Add the drums and that’s a 4th. Add the fact that I invented a drinking game from it, and it’s shaping up to be a good one.

9/10

That Guy

Leave a Reply

