Come Up And See Me (Make Me Smile) – Steve Harley And Cockney Rebel


So! New schedule! New writing! Not so new writers! What more could we want? Well, I would say a few more reviews from a few more people, but I’m working on that. For now, you’ll have to make do with me. It’s all good though, right?

So, I nearly reviewed this a little while ago, on one of my previous music Monday reviews, but decided to review Lovefool instead. Say what you want about that choice – I was tired and wanted an easier review.

As for Come Up And See Me, I figured it was one to put on a temporary back burner, not because it wasn’t worth reviewing, but because it would take a bit more time and effort. Tonight, I have an hour and a half and am only just feeling the first signs of tired on my eyelids. I’ll be going for a while yet. So, onto the review.

Come Up And See Me (Make Me Smile) is a song I don’t really remember hearing in my childhood, but am certain I had heard it LONG before the first time I remember hearing it. It’s unusual. I had this deja vu feeling from it, and I hate that with films, songs, books and TV shows. Makes me want to flip it the bird and find a new thing to perceive.

In this case, however, I stuck with it. I listened to the music, I noted how I felt and accepted it. (Yawn number one). Now, I listen to it every time I go on Spotify and enjoy it when I do. I think it’s how cheerful it is, despite the vocals sounding fairly miserable.

“You’ve done it all
You’ve broken every code
And pulled the rebel to the floor
You’ve spoilt the game
No matter what you say
For only metal, what a bore

You see, to me, that’s a very “you have betrayed us all” verse. A verse which says, you know, you did that against us, for nothing. Yet the music remains upbeat throughout. There’s even an almost obligatory ooooooh-ooooh-la-la-la bit..

The vocals, to me, have a very ‘Bob Dylan wannabe’ feel to them. Now, without looking, I don’t know exactly when Dylan started, but if I remember ‘We Didn’t Start The Fire’ properly, it was around the same time as the Bay of Pigs Invasion, back when Kennedy was alive. I’m guessing ’62-ish. That said, there is a Dylan sound to this song, and I don’t think anyone can deny that, or if they do, they should concede that it was either Bob Dylan or Peter Cook that it sounds like.

It’s a good song – it honestly truly is – but it sort of ruins it for me that I don’t hear Steve Harley, buy rather, Bob Dylan. I love Dylan, but this isn’t meant to be him.

8/10

That Guy

Leave a Reply

