The Fault In Our Stars


I’m a guy who likes to read books, watch movies, watch tv, play games, get laid every now and again, listen to music and eat food which shortens my life-span. This is a review about a film I saw whilst away in Liverpool, based on a book I read a long time ago.

Also, I own a signed copy of that book. Just saying.

So, The Fault In Our Stars (or TFIOS, as it has come to be known), is the story of a girl living with cancer in her lungs, who falls in love with a guy who had his leg removed following a cancer incident. They go to Holland together to meet her favourite author and then she finds out he’s really ill again, he’s going to die, then he dies, then everyone’s really sad because he was awesome.

Now, I’ve tried not to spoil it for you, hence my nonchalant attempt at a synopsis. In reality, the story is a gut-wrenching and, at times, amusing tale of love, in sickness and in health, til death made them part. There’s no denying it. She loved him and he loved her, okay?

I’m glad that’s cleared up…

Between them, they’ve got enough reasons for us to feel sympathetic towards them, for us to want them to have their fairy tale ending which makes everything so much better. But, to quote the author, John Green, himself, “the world is not a wish-granting factory”. He is, of course, right. The world is not a wish-granting factory. Life does not miraculously fix itself because we close our eyes, tap our heels and ask for something nicely. We have to work for it, and sometimes, working for it is our way of staving it off just that little bit longer, especially when it comes to death. We fight the battle to continue living when we know we cannot win the war – no matter what we do.

Now that we’re all cheerful, why don’t we analyse the film, eh?

The plot, in my opinion, is a work of art. It is inspiring and insightful, its entertaining and interesting, it’s amusing and gut-wrenching. It makes you feel up, right before kicking you in the ribs and saying “suck it, bitch!”. I mean, seriously, this film will have you laughing, and it will have you crying. I’m verging on emotionless psychopath (without the murderous tendencies, I promise), and I chuckled in places, and the ending had me leaking tears.

Even by people who verge on emotionless psychosis…

Although it’s more a point about the book, I think my next statement applies to both rather well. They’re filled to the brim with quotable phrases that are, in turn, filled with wisdom. Look at the above. It’s just… Linguistic art. It’s the kind of thing Shakespeare would have done. It’s the kind of thing Dickens would have done. It’s the kind of thing amateur writers like me can only dream of doing. Here I am, telling you all what I think about everything and anything, particularly just how crappy Hull is, when people like John Green are doing what I wish I could do.

But the world is not a wish-granting factory. Well played, John. Well played.

The acting, in my honest opinion, was pretty good. I particularly liked the guy who played Isaac, who I would know the name of if I had a better memory, had been able to see the credits, or did research before or during writing this. I didn’t notice the soundtrack, so, in my book, that’s a definite win there.

So what else can I say? I loved the film, I eagerly await the “Looking For Alaska” movie, whenever that comes out and I’m sending a link to this review to John Green himself, so John, if you’re reading, take very special heed to the words in the following paragraph. They may not make much sense, but take them into your mind, heart and soul. I mean them.

John – you have a gift and by now, I’m 98% sure you’re aware of it. You have a way of making people feel things they don’t want to feel, then making them want to feel it some more, which not only inspire people, but entertains them as well. From one writer to another, I have this to say. Keep up the good work.

For the film, here’s my score. Why the missing point? Because I felt there are a few directional features which detract from the plot-line in an unfair way, plus, I spent the whole film waiting to see John’s cameo, only to find out afterwards that it wasn’t included in the film.

9/10

That Guy

Leave a Reply

