R.I.P. Terry Pratchett


There are very few things in this world that make me deeply sad, these days. Sure, I feel sadness, and yes, I cry, but there is a surprising lack of things that make me feel the emptiness in the bottom of my gut that tells me that this is something which has truly hurt me on an emotional level – the kind of thing that doesn’t hurt until you really think about it, truly acknowledge that it is happening, and that nothing you can do will ever change that. To me, this is one of those situations.

In his daughter’s words, via his Twitter account, “Terry took Death’s arm and followed him through the doors and on to the black desert under the endless night.”

Terry was an inspiration to a great many people in a number of ways – he was a spectacular author, having written the Discworld series, along with the Johnny And The… series among others. Personally, I will remember him most for The Amazing Maurice And His Educated Rodents, my first book of his, and The Hogfather, which to this day inspires me to want to be a successful writer.

All that I can say now is that I hope that his ideas about life, and in particular death, or even Death, are anything close to reality. I can see it now, both Terry and Death discussing something intelligent and remarkable, something that the majority of the world could only even consider because Terry would have written about it.

He will be dearly missed, and we here at TGTRS would like to offer our condolences to Terry’s family and friends.

Terry Pratchett

R.I.P. Terry Pratchett, 1948 – 2015

I would like to end on a quote from one of his books, The Light Fantastic (1986):

“The death of the warrior or the old man or the little child, this I understand, and I take away the pain and end the suffering. I do not understand this death-of-the-mind.” – DEATH

That Guy

 

Leave a Reply

