MGMT – Kids


So, you may have missed it, but over the last few months, there have been a few references to the fact that I am due to become a father – in fact, it’s much more imminent now. At some point within the next 12 days, I will have a son, whom we will be calling Henry. With that in mind, I decided to go for a child-centric review, tonight.

Now, truth be told, I’ve listened to Kids by MGMT a few times, three of them in a row since I started writing this review. What can I say? Well, I really don’t get what it about. I really don’t. I gather that it might be something to do with living life without caring about the consequences of our actions, as opposed to just taking what they want and living in the moment. It’s quite an important topic, if it is what I think it is. I may be wrong, but who knows. Music is there to be interpreted, the abstract even more so.

Musically, the song isn’t really one that I rate. It doesn’t have that kick to hook you to it, or me, at least. I don’t feel drawn to it. Sure, there’s a sense of, oooh, in places, but for the most part, it feels like a sort of abstract generic, no matter how I try to feel about it. I don’t enjoy hearing it. It doesn’t sound as though it should be listened to, and I know that sounds harsh, but it’s how I feel.

So, what can I say? I’m not a fan of the song. I’m really not.

4/10

That Guy

* Note *
* You can find this song, as well as all of the songs we’ve ever mentioned, right here *

Leave a Reply

