Jurassic World (2015)


Good morning, good afternoon, good evening and good night. That Guy here, for my first review since Morgan Freeman knows when… But I’m back, and I plan to stay, and it’s all thanks to the lady who requested this review. You know who you are – thank you for believing in my opinion.

And without further ado… here it is.

I’m going to confess something here – I only watched Jurassic Park earlier this year, so I’m not the most suited to comment on the joy of experiencing a reboot, because to me, it’s more of just a boot – up. However, I am qualified to comment on the elements of Jurassic  World that hark back to the original movie.

image

But first, the plot… As always, be prepared for spoilers. We follow two brothers as they embark on their journey to Jurassic World, where they go on their wonderful adventure with dinosaurs. During this, Owen (Chris Pratt), a raptor “trainer” is asked to check for weaknesses in the cage of the newest attraction, the genetically engineered Indominus Rex, whose genetic make-up is kept secret from Owen. The dinosaur escapes and wreaks havoc, as Owen and Claire (Bryce Dallas Howard) search for the boys, to whom Claire is an aunt. In the end, there is a battle of dino vs dino, as the raptors fight the I-Rex, before turning on the humans and all causing havoc. A final showdown with a T-Rex, the raptors, the I-Rex and a sneaky Mosasaurus end the film, ensuring the survival of the remaining humans.

Now, as plots go, there’s a lot of “if people did their jobs properly, there wouldn’t be any problems in the first place”. Claire’s assistant is meant to look after the kids, but she lets them run off without even realising they are gone. The control centre people have the ability to check the location of the big bad dinosaur and they wait until people have gone into its enclosure before double – checking it isn’t in there. They have a helicopter with a gun attachment section on, but only two helicopter pilots on the entire island, and neither of them are in the security team.

“Smell my breath!”

So, for a “fully functional” theme park, they don’t seem to be very good at what they do. However, films work because there are problems that need to be solved, so I don’t mind, I just think that people who have jobs should do them properly…

The casting was pretty good. Pratt sells the character well, as does Howard, whilst performances from Vincent D’Onofrio (Full Metal Jacket) and Irrfan Khan (Life Of Pi) add to the reality with their morally opposed characters.

“Day 147 of the experiment, and they do not seem to appear that I am, in fact, not a Raptor. The experiment continues…”

I have a simple rule with soundtracks – do you notice it? If so, it’s either a musical, rubbish, or both. Now, there were only a few times when I really noticed the soundtrack whilst watching Jurassic World – once near the start when they enter the theme park and they used an adapted version of the original theme (or at least, it sounded like it), and near the end, with the (spoiler alert) T-Rex standing on the heli-pad, looking over the entire island. That, to me, is fantastic. You want certain moments in any movie to be punctuated by the sounds you want people to hear. A perfectly timed scream, the skilful composing of John Williams, or the call of a vicious, deplorable creature who is the source of misery and suffering for all who befall it…

Be honest… Were you really expecting anything else?

Now… For the nostalgia that I’m sure followers of the series felt… Having only seen the original earlier this year, I know that the impact that certain scenes had on me are very different to how they would be to the more die-hard fan – not to be confused with fans of Die Hard, like myself.

There’s a part of the film where the two kids stumble upon the original park, where we see the banner that fell in front of the T-Rex at the end of Jurassic Park, a subtle clue to this film’s climax perhaps, as well as the old jeeps, the binocular helmet things, whilst through the film there are the repeated mentions of Hammond, the original park’s founder and, for the more eagle-eyed viewers, the DNA helix talking kids through DNA and the like in one of the tourist attractions (whilst if I remember correctly, had “Hammond” in its name.

I like seeing references to elements from previous films, (I look forward to the references in the upcoming Star Wars movies) and I guess that with a film like this, having been released so late compared to the original movie, it’s to show the audience that the guys behind the new film haven’t forgotten how it all began and, where possible, they’ll find a way to sneak it in – even if they don’t have a plaque or something dedicated to Samuel L. Jackson or Jeff Goldblum. Heck, I’d have accepted a subtle nod to The Great White Hype

Nah, I’ve never seen it either.

And finally, the effects. What can I honestly say about the effects. Well, I must say, I’m incredibly impressed. Every year we get more and more impressive CGI, better effect technicians and I don’t care what anyone says – the raptors look about as realistic as they can. I don’t know if raptors use to look like that, but by Jove, they do now. They looked as though they were real, and, having seen images of some scenes with the raptors in before the CGI, I can honestly say that in a decade or so, with whatever technological advances we get in the field of movie-making, this film will be heralded for its stunning visuals.

Case in point.

So, all in all, I love the movie. There a few moments where you are truly shocked, and a few moments where you think “well, duh”. There’s action and adventure, even a slight moment of heart-break (the helicopter crash, for me) – what more can a film need?

9/10

That Guy

Leave a Reply

